We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They destroyed the best high end place for drinks & dinner”

Catch at Casa Del Mar
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch at Casa Del Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Pico Blvd.
la
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“They destroyed the best high end place for drinks & dinner”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

1 year ago we gathered here for a fabulous dinner. Then 4 months ago because of the first visit. Catch didn't bother to mention was the place being renovated and the menu was reduced.

Saturday was another special occasion - I called to confirm the reno was done. "oh yes!".
But the beautiful, quiet bar area with beach / ocean views was destroyed. All tile floor, hard surfaces, LOTS of noise.
We asked to be seated in Catch early to hear each other.

Service was "ok". Menu is smaller. Food was good but not the same "fabulous" category of our first visit.
All in all, an "ok" very expensive experience. (and we are happy to pay for quality)

We went across the street to Shutters for a cappuccino, much less noise and some great live jazz.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dougontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    64
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Usually restaurants with beautiful views have mediocre food and service, or worse. But the Catch is unique. My friends and I were positively impressed. Everything we ordered was just delicious. Our waiter was very attentive and charming and added even more enjoyment to our dining experience. The hostess who seated us was extremely caring and even came by to check on us and make sure we were happy with our table. Of course we were. The view was breathtaking. The ambience was casual but elegant, without being stuffy. It's a little expensive so I won't be returning very often, but when I have a special occasion to celebrate, the Catch will be my first choice in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSD20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It would be a mistake to dismiss "Catch" as a hotel restaurant. We couldn't resist the great menu and were able to sample quite a variety of dishes from over three days. Sashimi platter, short ribs, pork belly with balsamic onions, butternut squash soup, mussels -- all prepared and plated perfectly and delicious. If you don't want to make a reservation to eat in the dining room, the lounge area near the windows is open seating for drinks, small plates, dinner...Just make sure to ask for the restaurant menu. Great service -- very accommodating. We shared plates and grazed through the menu while enjoying live music. Sunday brunch is fabulous -- order the Eggs Benedict with Dungeness Crab. Generous portions!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kellypea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning views, great food.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Varied menu, great service, comfy environment and killer views of the Pacific all add up to a wonderful dining experience. Tasty cocktails, too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Hotel Casa Del Mar”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had lunch here, after a disappointing lunch the day before at Shutters. The lunch here was much better, the choices in food better, the service was a bit slow, but not snotty which I incurred at Shutters. Hotel Casa Del Mar is a beautiful Hotel, and I've stayed here before, it reminds you of Hollywood in the 30's. the way it's decorated. It was an older building they redid completely. It's a nice view of the ocean, and the food was good, and the service just a bit slow but friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch at Casa Del Mar also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Catch at Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing