We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We (4 Aussies) had 3 days following our cruise and found everything good with great service from the friendly reception staff.
Note it takes about 45 mins. from the cruise terminal. We waited about an hour for a Taxi Van and gave up when we were able to get a private transfer which was only $75 for the 4 of us in a large new mini bus.
The room was comfortable with a huge King Bed, good bathroom, coffee machine and very very clean. There are vending machines for soft drinks and nibbles with free ice , I think on all floors.
We loved the huge TV (70 channels) in front of our bed and free Wi Fi to catch up with all online after many days without it.
Our room fronted the main road which is noisy but at night we just turned on the air cond. closed the double glazed windows and shutters which kept out the noise and light for a good sleep.
The Free shuttle to downtown Santa Monica does not work on the weekend which is really strange ?? However there is a thing called the Blue Bus across the road that comes about every 15 mins. and cost only $1 or a mere 50cents for seniors.
Good and cheap HUGE meals are available next door at "I Hop", something new to us Aussies, but big variety and good quality. I thought that we Aussies had a big appetite but you Yanks can out eat us 2 to 1 easy, You Win.
For somewhat better food there are a couple of Restaurants about 2 blocks away, and we found the Thai was worth the 10 minute walk, even though not fantastic food.
Take Note, Over there the so called PHARMACY is more like a supermarket where you can buy Wine & Beer at a very cheap price compared to Australia. ($14 for a 12 pack of Heineken)
There is even an Oz style Westfield Mall that costs $25 in a cab to get to for some shopping therapy if you miss it like we did after 3 weeks away.
A bit far from Santa Monica Beach but well worth what we paid and we were very happy.

Room Tip: Not facing the main road would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank speaktruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel accommodations and hospitality! Our staff always strives to exceed guests’ expectations, and they truly appreciate whenever their efforts are acknowledged! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a good location if want to be near Santa Monica Pier/Promenade-- bus stops in front of hotel and will take you there-- only $1 each way. It would be nice if hotel had breakfast but the IHOP next door does the trick. The bathroom and counter/sink are in same room so it does make it hard for many people to get ready in the morning, but clean nice hotel. Staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 812dawnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we are very glad that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Poorly run. Night staff not very friendly/helpful. Coffee sucked. Difficulty signing onto the internet. When a problem occurred, I was given a phone number to call. Safe in the room did not function properly. When I advised the desk, they said they would send someone up to fix it. I don't think they did, as I was out, and the safe did not work upon my return. No welcome upon check-in. No greetings either entering, or exiting. Not the worst experience, but I would not stay there again. Definitely NOT worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel. Because guest satisfaction is extremely important to us, our goal is to exceed the expectations of all our guests. I'm sorry we were not able to exceed yours, but based on your feedback, our management team has taken corrective measures so your experience will not be repeated. And, we hope that if you plan on returning to Santa Monica, you will give us another chance to achieve our goal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed one night for start of road trip LA to San Francisco, large clean room, attentive staff, free underground parking.
Took taxi into town for 10 dollars, plenty of bars to choose from, friendly atmosphere.
Breakfast taken at IHOP next door to hotel, good food excellent start to the day

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrywDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way to San Francisco, and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a great place to stay for the price. You have to walk quite a bit to get to the ocean and shopping, but if you are used to walking and in shape it is a very enjoyable walk. Wall down Arizona, not Santa Monica Blvd for the most scenic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank nsusmra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, and suggesting a scenic route the beach. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and I'm sure readers will appreciate the walking tip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great location for the LA Marathon. Close enough to stretch and cool you down after finishing the race (approx. 1.5mi from the finish line). The IHOP within the hotel is very convenient for breakfast and protein loading after the race. Good comfortable bed to get good zzzz's before the race

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TasyoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay! We're very glad you had a good night's sleep before the marathon, and we hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Totally surprised on how nice they remodeled this hotel. Love the shudders on the big Windows. New bedding really brightens up the room. It also was nice to see housekeeping taking entire bedding off to clean..and. blankets are sheet wrapped. With no carpets makes it easy to see how clean it is. Free parking is also a great plus!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank dran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for staying with us again during your return visit to Santa Monica. We're very glad you liked how we remodeled the hotel, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
638 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
759 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,281 reviews
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $196 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and the Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. Guests arriving at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica find an exceptionally welcoming, cheerful and affordable hotel featuring all the comforts of home. Blending coastal style accommodations with friendly service and plenty of thoughtful perks, our 123 bright, contemporary rooms offer pillow top mattress, 42-inch flat panel TV's with cable, complimentary coffee, tea and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing