We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud street noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Atlanta, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very loud street noise”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located. Rooms were small but ok. I couldn't sleep due to very loud street noise. Parking space is narrow but manageable. Santa Monica beach is about 2 mile away and you should take your car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank dharmenderg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    566
    240
    57
    17
See reviews for
363
433
47
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were here only for one night. We checked in late (around midnight) but were welcomed by cheerful staff and the check-in process was completed in a very prompt way.

Looks like this hotel is being renovated and we got the newly renovated rooms up on the fourth floor (we had three rooms). There was a stark difference in the condition of the elevator (probably still stuck with the old decor) and the actual room (with new furniture and decor).

The onsite IHOP helped as we didn't have to drive around looking for breakfast options.

I don't know if both places (the hotel and the ihop) are run by the same management, but if yes, I'd say you've got good people working for you.

The secure parking was a definite plus.

Couple things that need to be addressed though -
The elevator(s) - at least the flooring of the elevators
Luggage carts

Overall this was a good place.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room (especially the ones on the fourth floor are good) - as of Dec 2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This Hotel is undergoing a renovation (as of Dec 2013) and what we saw promises to be an even better product than what it already is. The staff was outstanding and everything from the Lobby to the room meet every expectation during a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was not sure how this hotel was going to be, I can have very high expectations, and I do not typically stay at Best Westerns, but I was very impressed. This hotel was definately CLEAN, and honestly isn't that what is truly important! I was welcomed immediately to a lobby that clearly shows the new upgrades that are being worked on, new color choices and new furniture. The room was clean, with two bottles of water, and was very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the lighting and TV worked fine. I was not sure what to expect, but it was truly better than I had expected and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaDonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here Fri Sat and Sun of Thanksgiving weekend. I found it to be clean and reasonably priced in an area that can sometimes be very expensive. The entire hotel is now being renovated one floor at a time. Previous reviews said it was not a good location but I had a rent a car ( was SO cheap, $11 per day) so it was no trouble at all to get around, and the parking on site is free...so is internet in room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Love222travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was a clean, quiet hotel that for us was centrally located to the core of our vacation plans. Parking downstairs was convenient and included in the room price; we were right on a bus route to Santa Monica Pier, etc.

There is an IHOP on the corner which met our breakfast needs. All of the appliances worked. We were pleased with this establishment and if the need arises, we would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raudetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in America and it was a very refreshing feeling being treated so well by nice friendly staff. After staying at a bad hotel in New York previous. The room was good size and was clean there was a shuttle that would drop you down by the beach and the staff held our bags for us as we had a late night flight. Great service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duddyz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
601 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,811 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing