We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in Santa Monica” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Santa Monica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here Fri Sat and Sun of Thanksgiving weekend. I found it to be clean and reasonably priced in an area that can sometimes be very expensive. The entire hotel is now being renovated one floor at a time. Previous reviews said it was not a good location but I had a rent a car ( was SO cheap, $11 per day) so it was no trouble at all to get around, and the parking on site is free...so is internet in room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Love222travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    539
    229
    54
    16
See reviews for
348
399
42
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
327 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was a clean, quiet hotel that for us was centrally located to the core of our vacation plans. Parking downstairs was convenient and included in the room price; we were right on a bus route to Santa Monica Pier, etc.

There is an IHOP on the corner which met our breakfast needs. All of the appliances worked. We were pleased with this establishment and if the need arises, we would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raudetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in America and it was a very refreshing feeling being treated so well by nice friendly staff. After staying at a bad hotel in New York previous. The room was good size and was clean there was a shuttle that would drop you down by the beach and the staff held our bags for us as we had a late night flight. Great service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duddyz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Not a special hotel. Noise could be heard from walking above and from voices next door. No coffee on premises (make your own in room). Room was cleaned while I had the do not disturb sign on the door. Can they read?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The location is good for UCLA medical facility. The front desk is very pleasant. I was sorry to see that there was construction when I arrived and would have appreciated knowing this when I booked. I would not have stayed because of this which is why they don't say, I assume. The work lights were very bright surrounding the property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Room was updated, clean and bed was very comfortable. The bathroom also appeared to be updated and shower had nice water pressure. The counter in the bathroom was very spacious, so lots of room to spread things out when getting ready. There was a refrigerator, a safe, hair dryer, and coffee maker (and the coffee was actually good.) One of the two things we had a problem with was the noise the air conditioner made. When kicking on and off throughout the night, it made this whining, siren-like noise...drove us crazy! The second night we used a fan that our son and daughter-in-law lent us to drown out that noise. Had a GREAT sleep that night! The other thing that bothered us was that there was no breakfast offered. For the price we paid, especially for a Best Western chain, some type of quick breakfast items would have been appreciated. Overall, liked the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Hotel is next to a very busy noisy street - hopefully you get a room that is away from the noise. The property is older which is why the hallways are narrow and the walls seem to be thinner than most Best Westerns I have stayed in the past. My first few hours were great and I was happy until the party above us started and we couldn't sleep with all the noise. We did complain 3 times but nothing changed. Frustrated that such a nice location wouldn't want repeat business

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing