We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

stayed three nights at hotel a little bite out dated but very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly bus outside the door to 3rd st promenade and beach for 1$ good value if not a shuttle every hour from hotel enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: lower rooms tend to be a little bit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    523
    225
    54
    16
See reviews for
340
391
40
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chacras de Coria, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Absolutely a great relationship between service quality and price.

Parking included is a difference.

A place to go back. Great location. And internet free in the lobby.

You can move to the tourist zones around Lax avoiding the crowded-crazy downtown. The location is unsurpassable.

The staff at the front desk varies from very highly professsional and warm to distractec indiferent, but all of them very well educated, as well as the janitors.

The mattresses might have to be renewed in some beds.

Be confident. No noise at all from the Santa Monica Blvd. in the lower levels of the building.

20-steps walking from the lobby you willl find a I'Hoop with an outstanding staff that willl make your breakfast (or any other meal) a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOI430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is in a good location. You can get a bus to 3rd promenade or the pier for 1 dollar. Just make sure you have the correct money on you. I think the hotel provide a free shuttle on weekdays too.
There is free wifi and car parking. An ihop restaurant next door makes a good breakfast.
I would recommend this place to others.
The only down side is that there is no pool which doesn't really matter when you have Santa Monica beach minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you want a good value base to explore santa Monica and LA this is a good choice. The hotel is a short distance from the action in santa Monica but the bus is very easy to get and costs $1 the hotel also provide a shuttle bus mon - fri until 8pm. There is free wifi at the hotel. The ihop restaurant next door is a no thrills place for breakfast.

The hotel is a bit dated but has everything you need in the rooms. There is a nice little sun terrace to enjoy the sun and have a beer. There's not much near the hotel and Walgreens is a short walk away to stock up on water etc.

Santa Monica is a lovely place and hotels near the beach are very expensive, I would recommend this for budget travellers who want a convienent hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We have used this hotel at 6 times, usually on short stop overs when travelling from NZ to London.
Great service, great big clean room, helpful staff, early check in and late check out no problems. Free parking, I Hop next door for great breakfast, 5 mins drive to beach, 20 mins to Airport.
We will be back again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Best Western is just off historic Route 66 on the outskirts of Santa Monica. The room was comfortable with 2 queen size beds, free wifi and free car parking. It would be quite a long walk to the beach and took about 10 minutes in the car. It was very upsetting to see so many homeless people on the promenade and pier at Santa Monica beach and I didn't feel comfortable when being approached by vagrants for money as I felt quite intimidated by their behaviour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our Pacific Coast holiday. We were originally going to stay at the Doubletree hotel but some economies had to be made and the free parking and value rooms at the Best Western seemed to fit the bill. The room was clean and of an adequate size, although probably due a re-decorate. The reception staff were friendly and informative. The room windows were quite small which made the room a bit gloomy, however it kept most of the traffic noise out. We were on the top floor which I would definitely recommend for this reason. There is no hotel restaurant, but it is right next to an IHOP which we used a lot. The main drawback is the 20 blocks to the sea and shopping area. We made the mistake of walking to the sea and back on our first night, NOT recommended !. A long tiring trudge up the hill past some fairly seedy used car lots. Perhaps LA is not a place for pedestrians. The complimentary shuttle didn't run at the weekend, but we eventually found the Blue & White bus shuttle which ran regularly and was cheap. Being from the UK we were unfamiliar with the area and it didn't help that there was a multiple shooting a few blocks away the day we arrived. I would recommend doing your homework, as to places you want to visit and the transport options, before you arrive, as this hotel is a value bed for the night, not a destination in itself.

Room Tip: Up high, as far from the traffic as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury Shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing