We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveler rating
367
645
263
62
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
645
263
62
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking shuttle service clean hotel blue bus closer to the beach short drive comfortable beds coffee maker convenient location street promenade nice stay venice beach los angeles few blocks ihop bw surgery
Filter
Updating list...
713 - 718 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you want a good value base to explore santa Monica and LA this is a good choice. The hotel is a short distance from the action in santa Monica but the bus is very easy to get and costs $1 the hotel also provide a shuttle bus mon - fri until 8pm. There is free wifi at the hotel. The ihop restaurant next door is a no thrills place for breakfast.

The hotel is a bit dated but has everything you need in the rooms. There is a nice little sun terrace to enjoy the sun and have a beer. There's not much near the hotel and Walgreens is a short walk away to stock up on water etc.

Santa Monica is a lovely place and hotels near the beach are very expensive, I would recommend this for budget travellers who want a convienent hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have used this hotel at 6 times, usually on short stop overs when travelling from NZ to London.
Great service, great big clean room, helpful staff, early check in and late check out no problems. Free parking, I Hop next door for great breakfast, 5 mins drive to beach, 20 mins to Airport.
We will be back again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank peterdkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Best Western is just off historic Route 66 on the outskirts of Santa Monica. The room was comfortable with 2 queen size beds, free wifi and free car parking. It would be quite a long walk to the beach and took about 10 minutes in the car. It was very upsetting to see so many homeless people on the promenade and pier at Santa Monica beach and I didn't feel comfortable when being approached by vagrants for money as I felt quite intimidated by their behaviour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozzaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our Pacific Coast holiday. We were originally going to stay at the Doubletree hotel but some economies had to be made and the free parking and value rooms at the Best Western seemed to fit the bill. The room was clean and of an adequate size, although probably due a re-decorate. The reception staff were friendly and informative. The room windows were quite small which made the room a bit gloomy, however it kept most of the traffic noise out. We were on the top floor which I would definitely recommend for this reason. There is no hotel restaurant, but it is right next to an IHOP which we used a lot. The main drawback is the 20 blocks to the sea and shopping area. We made the mistake of walking to the sea and back on our first night, NOT recommended !. A long tiring trudge up the hill past some fairly seedy used car lots. Perhaps LA is not a place for pedestrians. The complimentary shuttle didn't run at the weekend, but we eventually found the Blue & White bus shuttle which ran regularly and was cheap. Being from the UK we were unfamiliar with the area and it didn't help that there was a multiple shooting a few blocks away the day we arrived. I would recommend doing your homework, as to places you want to visit and the transport options, before you arrive, as this hotel is a value bed for the night, not a destination in itself.

Room Tip: Up high, as far from the traffic as you can get
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our Pacific Coast Highway tour. Definitely our least favorite hotel. Far from the water, 2 miles (kind of our own fault for not researching this-but disappointing none the less). You couldn't even see the water. They did offer a complementary shuttle to the beach/pier which was nice, but the last pick up is 8pm from the pier area- so not that convient for folks going out to dinner or wanting to watch the sunset. We ended up having to take a $10 cab ride home at the end of the night (9:30pm). Rooms were outdated and furniture smelled bad. Bed not that comfortable. Staff was friendly and there was free garage parking. Bottom line- you can do better for the price range- we saw lots of little hotels on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellette33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel, and we are sorry you were disappointed with our accommodations and location. We are glad, however, that you found our staff friendly and appreciated the free parking.

Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all our guests but, regrettably, we were not able to exceed yours. Your comments are appreciated, however, because they help us to continually monitor the quality of our product and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews