We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,345)
Filter reviews
1,345 results
Traveler rating
362
642
261
61
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
642
261
61
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingshuttle serviceclean hotelblue buscloser to the beachshort drivecomfortable bedscoffee makerconvenient locationstreet promenadenice stayvenice beachlos angelesfew blocksihopbwsurgery
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,345 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are a family of 7 - 4 adults and 3 kids aged 13,11,9yrs and travelled to USA for a family holiday. We had 3 nights and chose to stay in Santa Monica because LA area is huge and without a car, difficult to get around. Plus Paradise Pier & 3rd St Promenade gave us somewhere to go after dark with kids. We chose BW Plus Gateway for it's value for money. It is 20 blocks from the beach but has a free shuttle service which needs to be booked with reception and has a limited schedule. Otherwise you can pay alot more and stay closer to the beach. In our case the weather was cold and not swimming weather when we stayed so would have been a waste of money. A better and cheaper option is to stay BW Plus Gateway and use the Big Blue Bus. The bus stop is outside the hotel and at US$4 day pass was good value. We found most taxis in LA can only cater for 6 pax. The IHOP next door was excellent value for money with huge servings. Aussies will find them massive compared to what we get at home, so would suggest you share. Overall the hotel is nice with friendly staff and if you don't mind being a distance from the Pier, is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quinnd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

What a wonderful experience being able to vacation with your family! Your comments about the hotel were very kind, and our staff especially appreciated your compliment. Also, I’m sure readers will find the transportation information you provided very helpful!

From all of our hotel “family,” thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are very glad you had an enjoyable visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the BW+ Santa Monica because it was central to many museums that we wanted to see including the Getty Villa, Getty Center, Petersen Auto Museum and all the way to Simi Valley to the Reagan Library. We spent an evening at the SM Pier because it was so close. There is a free hourly shuttle to the shopping area (with TONS of restaurants); and the pier is just beyond that.
BUT, our room was on the main floor and it was noisy. Next time, we would stay higher up. Free parking was nice, too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Bill/Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel during your museum trip. I hope your visits to the museums were enjoyable!

I apologize for the disturbing noise that was near your room. We always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests, and regret that we were not able to exceed yours. If you will be visiting the area again in the future, I hope you will choose to stay with us. And, when you make your reservation, please mention that you would like a room on an upper floor.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel during Spring Break when we visited the Los Angeles area. If you're looking for luxury and frills, this is not your place. But if you just need a place to sleep when you get back from exploring L.A., this is an affordable hotel in a good location. Our first evening in L.A., we drove from the hotel down to the beach and spent a half hour or so, and then made our way to Sunset Blvd. and took a very interesting drive through the famous communities of Bel Air, Beverly Hills, and Hollywood on our way to the Griffith Park Observatory. We had time to do all of those things (on a Saturday) even with a late start. I'm a runner and enjoyed being only 20 blocks from the beach and easily able to run down to Venice Beach and along the Santa Monica Pier. There's an IHOP in the hotel, which is convenient for a quick breakfast before heading out. The place looks a little lost in the 70's, though, so if fancy decor is high on your priority list, you may not be happy here! Parking is expensive, but I'm sure that's typical of any hotel in a major city in California.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlabamaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, and for your comments about the convenience of visiting area attractions. However, I did not understand your reference to hotel parking being “expensive,” because parking at our hotel is free for one car per room.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very comfortable. The desk help was great..They also new alot about the computer in the lobby and were very helpful and pleasant at all times. The arrangement with IHOP was enjoyable and certasinly offered more than any other motel-hotel we've stayed in.. thanks for the shuttle service and free , safe parking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel, and we are very glad you enjoyed your visit! The comments we read help us to continually monitor the quality of our product and service. Thank you also for complimenting our Front Desk Staff. They really appreciated it!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good location: 20 walk-able blocks to shopping promenade, few more to the beach. Public transportation is steps away. Convenient parking garage. Short drive to Getty Center. The front desk staff was wonderful! Very personable and caring. Next door to iHop which also provides room service. I felt safe and comfortable.
The room was well appointed and nicely decorated. No traffic noise.
The only drawback was I was constantly bounced off of wifi and had to keep signing back in -- very annoying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LizDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews