We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Location and Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Blount County, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent Location and Adequate”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel during Spring Break when we visited the Los Angeles area. If you're looking for luxury and frills, this is not your place. But if you just need a place to sleep when you get back from exploring L.A., this is an affordable hotel in a good location. Our first evening in L.A., we drove from the hotel down to the beach and spent a half hour or so, and then made our way to Sunset Blvd. and took a very interesting drive through the famous communities of Bel Air, Beverly Hills, and Hollywood on our way to the Griffith Park Observatory. We had time to do all of those things (on a Saturday) even with a late start. I'm a runner and enjoyed being only 20 blocks from the beach and easily able to run down to Venice Beach and along the Santa Monica Pier. There's an IHOP in the hotel, which is convenient for a quick breakfast before heading out. The place looks a little lost in the 70's, though, so if fancy decor is high on your priority list, you may not be happy here! Parking is expensive, but I'm sure that's typical of any hotel in a major city in California.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, and for your comments about the convenience of visiting area attractions. However, I did not understand your reference to hotel parking being “expensive,” because parking at our hotel is free for one car per room.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    555
    240
    55
    17
See reviews for
359
426
45
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very comfortable. The desk help was great..They also new alot about the computer in the lobby and were very helpful and pleasant at all times. The arrangement with IHOP was enjoyable and certasinly offered more than any other motel-hotel we've stayed in.. thanks for the shuttle service and free , safe parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGateway, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel, and we are very glad you enjoyed your visit! The comments we read help us to continually monitor the quality of our product and service. Thank you also for complimenting our Front Desk Staff. They really appreciated it!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good location: 20 walk-able blocks to shopping promenade, few more to the beach. Public transportation is steps away. Convenient parking garage. Short drive to Getty Center. The front desk staff was wonderful! Very personable and caring. Next door to iHop which also provides room service. I felt safe and comfortable.
The room was well appointed and nicely decorated. No traffic noise.
The only drawback was I was constantly bounced off of wifi and had to keep signing back in -- very annoying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LizDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times when visiting Santa Monica and LA. We have also stayed at other more upscale properties. For $150 US to $180 , you would be hard-pressed to do better. First, the location on Santa Monica Boulevard is central in the following ways: a taxi ride from LAX airport is $25 to $40 depending on the taxi company. The Promenade ( popular shopping area ) , the beach, and the Santa Monica Pier are all a short ride west. The hotel has a free shuttle. By the way, free hotel self parking ia available underground. Spaces are tight, but abundant. We like staying here more than the beach area because of the easy walking to restaurants, variety stores and banking, etc. all on Wilshire Blvd. a block away. Top it off with an I-Hop for breakfast connected to the hotel.
The hotel has always been very clean. The rooms are basic. Flat screen TV, coffee maker, shower/tub, decent bathroom counter space. Can be noisy, especially during film festivals and such. Try to get an upper floor AWAY from Santa Monica Blvd. lobby with computer access, free in room Wi-Fi. Walk 3 or 4 blocks west on Santa Monica Blvd to DK donuts and find out why the locals line up there in the AM.
A short ride North is Montana Blvd., the Rodeo Drive of Santa Monica. Good for celebrity sighting and window shopping.Have lunch at a sidewalk cafe. Reasonable prices.
15 min North on Pacific Coast Highway is Malibu. Another great celeb sighting area. If the weather is warm, do not miss Venice Beach to the south. Again, a short drive away, and maybe the best definition of LA LA LAND.
A couple of famous, vintage guitar shops in the area, for those interested. Search on the Internet, is all I will say!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meanguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was easy to find and a mile or two from all the places we wanted to go to. If you think you're going to walk to anything though you are mistaken. Once in for the night we stayed put. I understand there was a shuttle from tripadvisor, but didn't find that info at the hotel.Probably could of walked to 3rd street, but with 2 teen girls at night I wasn't sure. Parking underground free and room was nice and clean. My daughters would of loved a pool or something besides wifi and tv, but it was fine. For breakfast we usually don't care for IHOP but it was the only place nearby and the food and service were good and we enjoyed it, so I actaully am glad I gave it a try. Coffee machine in the room too. All in all, it fit our needs but provided nothing extra. For under $200 in this area it was reasonable and the desk staff was friendly and check-in and out easy. Not much else to add as the reviews here were spot on.

Room Tip: Stayed on top floor - probably less noisy and previous reviewer mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
512 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great location for walking access to the 3rd street Promenade. IHOP in the hotel is convenient. Underground parking is convenient. Rooms are large. Bathroom is large. Great service from hotel staff. We were in a room on the connector over the lobby area, room 214 - avoid.

Room Tip: we were in a room on the connection (214) over lobby area. Avoid, a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
593 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
611 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing