We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“"unfortunately" still the best bang for the buck” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“"unfortunately" still the best bang for the buck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've made a point not to go back to this hotel for my annual L.A. trip but if you want to stay in the Santa Monica area this place is still the most convenient to pick. Rate system is quite tricky : if you get online you'll see a stupidly expensive 159/179 USD per night,if you call them they can give you their "manager special " rate of 149USD,still a lot of money but beats the other pricier hotels in Santa Monica. Great comfy beds,unfcomfortably hot and dark rooms,terribly old carpeting in the hallways. Hotel is stucked in the early 00'ies,I hope they'll renovate soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vegasvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    466
    208
    52
    14
See reviews for
302
354
37
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week while visiting my son and his family as their guest room wasn't ready, so they treated me. I was there for 7 nights. I have stayed at this same hotel about 8 years ago and I had a really terrible experince so I was a bit anxious. I was very pleasantly surprised by the updates this hotel has made. My rooms- I changed mid week to a larger room so my grand kids could stay over night one night- were clean, up-to-date, with great mattress, bedding, bath amenities, fridge in the room and quiet safe atmosphere. The staff was very accomodating, desk clerks, cleaning and janitorial staff. It is obvious that the current management has trained their employees and takes care of the details that make a hotel stay comfortable.The computer in the lobby was useful and always worked. Kudos to this B.W.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FolksfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridian, ms
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I feel liike $159 was a little high for a Best Western. But the Santa Monica is just an expensive area. The room was clean. The front desk staff were friendly. Parking and wi-fi were free. There is a safe in the room. I did have a concern with the back balcony. There is a sliding glass door at the back of the room. It is not an individual balcony, it wraps all the way around. It's a nice little area with lounge chairs and a table but anyone can walk through it. Unfortunately we had a room right by the elevators, vending machines and ice. It was so noisy and I had trouble sleeping. The bed was comfortable. Would have been a 5 except for the noise and back door. It is a 1.4 mile walk to the 3rd street promenade or the bus runs right by the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asnow815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Room was very large and comfortable. Underground parking was very convenient. The walls are very thin, I had to listen to people in the next room argue in the evening and in the morning. Lucky for me they were quiet during the night.

Room Tip: Get a room that does NOT have an adjoining room. I could hear everything from the adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night immediately after arriving into LAX. We had been looking for somewhere reasonably priced and convenient to reach from the airport and this hotel ticked all the boxes. It was easy to find and we were able to get parked at the hotel without any difficulty. The room was perfectly comfortable but it felt quite dark and cramped. Furnishings were very basic. The hotel was a lengthy walk from the beach however as we were only staying for one night this didn't really matter to us - if staying for longer I would have liked to be closer to the pier area where the majority of restaurants and hotels seemed to be.
There was nothing special about the hotel however it was adequate, staff were friendly and it was a very good price for Santa Monica.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cat_H2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Didn't think this hotel would be so far from the ocean but walking to it was refreshing. We found out after there is a free shuttle to 3rd st promenade that you can book ahead of time. Hotel itself was good. Very basic hotel. No pool though. I would recommend not getting a room by the lobby since its constant noise. It was nice that ihop is 30 steps away from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waitingtoexhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed one night. I asked for a quiet room when reserving, and on our room on the 4th floor was absolutelyquiet. The room was small but tastefully decorated. The King size bed was extremely comfortable with foam-top mattress. Excellent Internet connection. Staff were friendly and helpful. Immediate neighborhood is commercial, but IHOP on premises is convenient. Very good base for visiting Santa Monica and/or West LA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dick99000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#22 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#10 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury Shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Best Western + Iniative, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing