We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, well placed for beach and LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, well placed for beach and LA”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Nice hotel, great rooms (VERY comfortable beds), clean, excellent TV. Easy to get to the beach on the bus, which stops on Santa Monica Boulevard and costs $1 each way. Not a lot of choice of eateries in the area, but the IHop cafe, which adjoins the hotel, did fabulous breakfasts....huge, of course.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottsinthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    551
    237
    55
    17
See reviews for
356
419
45
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for three nights for a show in LA, worked out perfectly. Hotel was great, clean, very comfy bed, excellent free wifi & no parking charges. Very friendly and helpful desk staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights from 27th July. Although decor/carpeting in corridors a bit dated and could do with a freshen up, the rooms are clean enough and beds were very comfortable. We are a family of 4 with 2 teenage girls and the room was a little short in storage space, however, we had a busy schedule touring LA (incl. San Diego) and this was the perfect location for getting around, free parking, the IHOP attached to the hotel which was very handy and regular bus service down to 3rd St Promenade and Pier - all was perfect and the staff we found friendly and helpful at all times.

Weather tends to appear overcast and cloudy in the mornings but by 1030/11am the sun breaks through and its lovely and warm (around 80s), however, it is very cool in the evenings so leggins/jeans/cardigan would be recommended and we were there July/August.

Recommendations: Universal Studios, hire bikes from Sea Mist Santa Monica Pier and cycle along Venice Beach and walk along Venice Boulevard, great atmosphere. We did the LA Helicopter Tour, Starline LA City tour, movie homes tour, Farmers Market, Knotts Berry water & theme parks and all the Beverly Hills/Hollywood stuff. San Diego 2 hours away, also worth a visit - Seaworld and the City Trolley Tour. Shopping: 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica and street entertainment/food and atmosphere really good.

Room Tip: We requested higher floor, which we got, and although we were facing the main road, there was no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank delainenorris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was really easy to find after a long flight to LAX! The staff were really frindly and the easy, free parking was a great bonus.

We only stayed 3 nights but the beds were so comfortable I wis we had stayed longer. The corridors and room had very dated decor but it was very clean and quiet and even though it is right on a busy junction we didn't have any traffic noise with the window shut. The bathroom lacked storage and we didn't have many towels between the four of us but we found the fridge, safe and coffee maker very useful.

We used the iHop next door for breakfast one morning and found the staff there ver friendly and the food good.

This was a good base to explore the area but it is a good mile walk to the beach and the promenade area which was a shame, especially since there was no pool. This hotel is a good budget option for Santa Monica and we would probably use it again if we weren't planning too much beach time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I spent 11 nights at the hotel with my 13-year-old daughter visiting theme parks and the beach. Every member of staff I came across had a smile and was helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable with two queen beds, very quiet and kept spotless by housekeeping. Meals (and room service) are at the iHop next door, which my daughter loved. Parking and wi-fi is free, which is a great plus for me, and the room was a good price. There's no pool, and no view, but that's not what we wanted. We wanted a comfortable base in Santa Monica and this hotel is perfect for that. There's a shuttle to the beach area and a regular bus, but it's walkable (just over a mile). Oh, and there's a small fitness room open all hours, which I should have used more. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Decent location in Santa Monica about a mile from beach or shopping. Good standard of facilities. We were able to check in for our flight online and print the boarding cards. No restaurant at the hotel so breakfast is at iCap next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in July at the end of our holiday. Our room was on the 3rd floor at the end and we had no outside noise although we did have a little bit from room above us. We chose not to use the free shuttle available for transport to Santa Monica Pier and walked the 20 minutes straight down Santa Monica Blvd. Although on a couple of occassions we did make use of the public transport which was available directly across the road, a great and frequent service even on the weekend.
Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful, rooms clean and very comfortable and being a smaller hotel I think gave it a home like enviroment.
Great cafe next door with a large range of meal options, I would suggest dining in and not having take away. A little further up the road there is also the Bistro of Santa Monica which has beautiful meals and live piano music.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you are a light sleeper and don't want to be bothered by the possibilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perth26_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing