We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest Motel in Santa Monica, run-down, but SAFE”
Review of Pavilions Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilions Motel
Ranked #35 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheapest Motel in Santa Monica, run-down, but SAFE”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Although $75 a night doesn't seem cheap, it's the lowest you can get in the Santa Monica/Venice Beach area, which is where all the fun and nightlife is (especially Abbot Kinney, a hipster bar/restaurant strip in Venice). Anything cheaper will be a 30 minute drive away on freeways in (more dangerous) South Central LA. The place is quite run down, and while it was clean enough, the shower and bathroom were pathetically tiny, as were the rooms. We were upgraded to a 3 person room, even though we were only 2. It was still tiny. Matching sheets would have been nice. The sheets seemed clean, although the comforter was old and looked like it could have standed a wash.

The tiny motel complex is like a big, skinny, U-shape, with a courtyard in between. At first glance, the courtyard looks run down and could clearly use a new paint job, but it grows on you in a bohemian/romantic kind of way after awhile. There's plenty of glass tables, mix and match chairs, loads of plants artfully placed (in the cheapest way) here and there. You can smoke and eat out there, as well as use the internet.

The motel caters to a lot of homeless families (they get vouchers from the Salvation Army to stay for a bit), but don't mind, they are generally nice, friendly people, people with children in tow, and the hotel keeps a watchful eye over them (takes no BS).

It's also in a SAFE neighborhood, and has free parking. And the location for the price can't be beat- a 5 minute drive (there's a bus too) to downtown Santa Monica outdoor mall, or the beach.

The staff is very friendly, charismatic, and offers free maps of the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elisabethLLLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    6
    8
    62
See reviews for
10
24
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This motel was terrible. The facilities were very basic (which is fine for the price), but the Bed Bugs were not fine. There were so many of them we could watch them walking around the bed at night time. I got 70 bites.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KayMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My experience was horrible. The man Sidd (orerater of motel)goes in guests room without their permission. If you leave you key in the door, he takes it, then makes you pay a key deposit again which by the way He preys on you forgetting to ask for your key deposit back so he can go get high with it.oh i dont advise any one to stay there no maid service.< no toilet paper< bugs in room>if you leave anything in the room he is yard selli ng it the next day.. he is cheap all the drawers are tacckedTACKED TOGETHER BY GLUE> HE GETS PASTRIES FROM FOOD BANK AND TRIES TO GIVE THEM TO CUSTOMERS THEY ARENT NEW !THEY HAD VISIBLE MOLD ON THEM> TRICKY PERSONALITY DONT PAY CASH UP FRONT HE WILL NOT GIVE YOU YOUR MONEY BACK THIS BUSINESS HAS BEEN REPORTED TO BETTER BUSINESS BEAU

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank jehovah92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Cozy Ma and Pops hotel. The simplicity of this place is a unique quality in itself. I wanted to be someone close enough to the beach to make the trip several times - sunrise, morning, mid-day, sunset. It is in the perfect location weather you are taking a bus or driving (my little brother skated to the beach in less 30 minutes).

If you are looking to save money, come here!!! I will definately go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Do not stay here under any circumstances. The place is absolutely disgusting so went and looked at another one of their properties. They offered us a "nicer" place at one of their apartments which they obviously use illegally as a hotel and things went missing. We found out afterward that the place is run by a known neighborhood criminal. You can look it up yourself at the Santa Monica Police Department website yourself (santamonicapd.org and type in Pavillons Motel in the search field). They act really nice but with more research and talking to neighbors we find that this is a drug/criminal hotel with reported bedbugs. Don't be fooled by the owners/managers' nice demeanor. Please for your safety and not to mention health, do not stay here.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank West02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The room, the bed and sheets smell like a barn with filthy animals. This hotel should not be an option for any dog, let alone a human being. You are better off staying at the hostel than at this motel. It is terrible and the worst hotel experience in my entire life; and I have traveled the globe. Trip Advisor should remove this hotel as an option for Santa Monica.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkgllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2009

CONS
After reading the initial reviews I came prepared. I bought towels, soap and own washcloth, tolietries and purchased at the local store clorox, paper towel, toliet paper (they did have some) and air freshners. To turn on the air conditioner, I had to jump on the bed and fiddle with it to jump start and it took a while to get the room (which smelt extremely stale upon arrival) cool.

The sheets and pillowcases were dirty (Have my own sheets/pillows). I wiped the bathroom sill down (caked with spider webs and dust from parking lot outside window).

The smell, despite the air freshner and frebreeze did not go away and crickets continue coming through the door and wall cracks. I put towels to block the entrance.

Mold, burn marks and holes in curtain in room.

I was quoted one price and wound up paying another price (4 dollars difference).

No maid service. No one came to collect my tiny bags of trash. I made my own bed and kept the room clean myself.

PROS
I came to unwind for three nights. I was on a very tight but vacationing budget. The neighborhood is nice, the local store owners friendly as well as the owners of the motel. At night TOTAL SILENCE. You could hear the crickets trying to get inside my room!! No smoking in rooms only in the courtyard. I'm a smoker but prefer non-smoking room.

Cable is fine. No phone (bring your cell). Bathroom is shower only (at least my room was) with cool different tiles. I liked the fact the water was just right and adjustable.

I got my well deserved rest.

#8 Santa Monica will take you straight to the beach (well two or three blocks away from it). It is that close! Don't worry, the police really do patrol the area frequently. I was very relaxed and comfortable walking around the neighborhood. Oh, for the solo traveler who craves Starbucks coffee, there is one up the street as well as a beautiful park if you choose to run/walk and don't want to miss out on your daily exercise.

Laundry and stores a few blocks down.

I would return but I found other motels closer to the beach and cleaner. If I had to do it again and Pavilions was the only motel available, I would.

WYSIWYG

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poe4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Palm Motel
Palm Motel
#33 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Santa Monica
Santa Monica Motel
Santa Monica Motel
#26 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Santa Monica
Rest Haven Motel
Rest Haven Motel
#32 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Motel

Property: Pavilions Motel
Address: 2338 Ocean Park Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-5108
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pavilions Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pavilions Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilions Motel Santa Monica
Pavilions Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing