We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, it's a made up chain....”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
Ranked #17 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
494 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“OK, it's a made up chain....”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

It was created to take advantage of the movie fame of Forrest Gump, but still they do a good job and it is worth the trouble.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,083
    1,032
    380
    114
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
454 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fun Place !”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We ate at Bubba Gumps with our grandchildren while visiting the pier. I was pretty skeptical at first, but it all changed once we were seated. This restaurant is right on the Santa Monica Pier and was pretty busy. But our server was really nice and made us, especially the kids, feel great. We had the usual shrimp, fish tacos, Jenny's catch, etc. It was all really good. It did cost a bit for the food, but it was actually worth it. Our table got to participate in the Forrest Gump trivia quiz, and that was lots of fun for all. We were quite pleased with Bubba Gumps.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place to see the sunset !”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

OK so we had to wait an hour but we knew we couldnt pre-book. It was worth it ! The waiter was amazing, the table perfect, the food even better ! We had a Forest Gump quiz, our daughters got to take home their flashing light up glasses and there is even a gift shop!. Portion sizes excellent and overall a wonderful experience. Deffo worth the wait !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken at a Shrimp Place”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I am not a seafood person so I would suggest you get Mama's Southern Fried Chicken, its to die for. Otherwise, we have been here about a half-dozen times in multiple locations and have never had a bad meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was good and nice atmosphere on the beach”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Its on the beach. Make sure you call ahead to make reservations. Seating is good. Food is good but pricy. Its on the boardwalk.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greeneyzs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing