We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat at the bar to avoid waiting for a table”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
Ranked #19 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eat at the bar to avoid waiting for a table”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Turned up ad-hoc but 45 main wait for table. Told we could eat at bar if we wanted. Actually more fun, more atmosphere and quickly able to get drinks. Good choice of starters and mains. Really quick service. Food of a kind. Very predictable since part of a chain not fantastic but for its type very acceptable. Would eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    1,055
    403
    118
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view, very good food; fun place”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff is very friendly and immediately makes you feel welcome. Nice menu with a very good selection of appetizers and main courses. All the food was served hot and not too long after it was ordered. Great for the family with children or just about anyone who likes fresh, tasty seafood with a great view of the ocean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've been to a couple Bubs Gump restaurants. This one has a great location on the pier. The good is knockoff southern, but decent. The drinks are not bad either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We hoped to get a reasonably priced lunch here but were disappointed. The food is good but we had forgotten that it is overpriced and very commercial. There is a good atmosphere because it is really busy. However our waiter was too full-on and too eager to push for a tip, so much so that he wrote on our bill how much we should tip him! Obviously we chose to tip him what we wanted to. Make your own conclusion as to what he received.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overdone Tourist Trap”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Kids wanted to come. Horrible service. Changed waiters three times. Wait staff on break were loud and innappropriate next to our table. They also spent a lot of time on their cellphones. Music drowned out our conversation. I'll be sticking to the hole in the wall places from now on

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing