We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, :)”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
Ranked #18 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great views, :)”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Probably a place to visit once. Glad we did, but don't think we would again. Great for the nostalgia of the Forest Gump movie, lovely shrimp dishes, however, the prices are quite high! OUr waiter was ok, not overly helpful in anyway, but he did his job. Lovely views of the beach, and a great flashing light cup to take home from our very over priced drink...but then we were paying for the pretty lights, lol.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    1,055
    403
    118
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Surprising for being part of a tourist center”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I am not a fan of chain restaurants, no matter how cool the theme, however, in this instance, Bubba Gump delivers the goods. The service was friendly, accommodating and fun. The portions were substantial and the experience, while very busy, was still relaxing. This is a solid choice when on the Santa Monica Pier.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalessiopietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place is great. The portion sizes are massive and its great value for money. You get a free glass when you order a cocktail. Great view and location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grainne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the food...”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

but not the service. While the food wasn't as good as we had hoped (seriously, fried seafood..) as the "Shrimp Tempura" batter was soggy, Shrimp a bit mushy; the Shrimp Pasta was overly lemon flavored, the children's mac & cheese was in fact Kraft Mac n Cheese. But our server was great.. very personable, attentive, and when we said the Shrimp Pasta sauce was way over powered lemon, she had it redone and brought the sauce on the side.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCK FALLS
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The drinks were expensive and watered down. Glasses were full of ice. Two sips and it was empty. May kids yelling and causing all kinds of noise. Once seated the waiter brought drinks and promptly spilled my wife's drink in her lap. I was surprised we did not get charged for the spilled drink. About 5 minutes another waiter spilled a drink down her back. When my daughter in law finally got her meal it was ice cold. I would say this place is overpriced, noisy and definitely a tourist trap. If I am ever in the area again this is one place I would avoid at all costs

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHARON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing