We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed April 2, 2007

My husband and I spent the first 3 days of our honeymoon at the Channel Road Inn--what a fabulous, romantic spot! We're both from the OC, and thought about spending our first few days near Disneyland. But we really wanted a charming, intimate place to stay, and couldn't find anything to fit the bill in Anaheim. I did a pretty exhaustive search of B&B's in the area, and Channel Road Inn had everything we were looking for (including a couple rooms with canopy beds, fireplaces, and jacuzzi tubs!) Plus the egg dish they serve with breakfest is fantastic--reminds me of the one my mom makes for breakfast on Christmas Day. And now we get a fun and silly Christmas card from the staff every year!

When thinking about where we'd spend our first few days as newlyweds, I had a really specific sort of place in mind. Channel Road Inn fit the bill perfectly--it has elegance and old-timey charm and really felt like a home. Thank you!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank MsHarlyQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    101
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
49
342
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We have stayed at the Channel Road Inn, many times over the years, and it always feels like coming home. Even though we've been at the inn at different times of the year, this was the first time we've come at Christmas. Wow. As we walked up the brick steps, we noted the bright red poinsettias and deep green garlands. Inside was a winter wonderland. There were 2 Christmas trees, both beautifully decorated. We were greeted, as usual, by the very attentive staff, who are always eager to help.

We stayed in room 8, which is a large, white room with views out to the sea. After settling in, we decided to take a nap, as we'd been up since 4:30 in the morning. The smell of baking cakes floated up from the old kitchen as we stretched out on the huge, comfy bed. Heaven!

Since it was December, we did not take advantage, as we usually do, of the bicycles the inn lends out to its guests. Normally, we would ride on the 26 mile pathway that winds down the beach. We did, however, use the videos that are also on loan.

The breakfasts, cookies, and evening hors d'oevres and wine are all much appreciated. I don't know how they do it, but we've never had the same goodies (except the cookies) twice. Breakfast is served between 7:30 and 10:00, but you can come down earlier for coffee, and often muffins or cakes are also available.

Besides walking or riding along the beach, we also enjoy the shopping on Montana Ave. Of special note is Ponte Vecchio at 7th and Montana for Italian ceramics and Marmelade, for wonderful salads, sandwiches and baked goods. Beverly Hills is a short drive away, and LAX is about a 20 minute drive away, depending on traffic.

  • Liked — The home-like feel and the wonderful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Comd and enjoy
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Berkeleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

This guest house will give you traditional american hospitality with beautifully decorated rooms and the most friendly and helpful staff you could ever wish to meet. It is such a homely little place and is in an ideal location (literally a street off the PCH, though not noisy) and just a 3 minute drive from down town Santa Monica. You would need a car to get around although you could rely on taxi's to take you into town when wanted, though it is about $10 a time. It is just a very short walk from the beach with a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance if you couldn't be bothered to go into town. It took us about 40 minutes to drive into Hollywood from here, a lovely drive along Sunset B'Vard taking us through Brentwood, Bel Air etc. This was a relief from the freeways! Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again as it was the perfect location with the right balance between LA and Santa Monica.

  • Liked — The home-made treats that were always available
  • Disliked — No Pool - though there was a hot-tub
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Alice76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Our family of 5 stayed at the Channel Road Inn in July....we were greeted by Julie who was very personable and showed us around the Inn. She gave us great tips about getting to and from the beach as well as how to navigate around Santa Monica. She offered any assistance with our travel, dinner or any other needs. We stayed in 2 different rooms. Our children stayed downstairs in the porch room. It was plenty spacious and clean. We stayed upstairs in room #5 and had a nice bright and sunny room that faced the gardens. The afternoon cookies were delicious and the wine, cheese and veggies are a nice addition. The Inn is located in great proximity to Malibu, the beach in Santa Monica or great shopping. The beach bikes were great as we used them everyday. Everyone was very hospitable and willing to share what knowledge of the area that they knew. We picked this Inn based on the trip advisors reviews and were not one bit disappointed.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank sam.5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2006

My wife and I have just returned from 6 nights at the Channel Road Inn. We stayed in the economy room (room 13) which is around the back of the property.

This property is very different from the usual US hotels we have stayed in – its small and personal. The staff are extremely friendly and do everything they can to make you stay comfortable even our names were learnt very quickly.

Breakfast and afternoon treats (cheese, wine, cakes, cookies etc) are included in the price. The majority of items served are made and baked in an ‘open kitchen’ across the corridor from where food is served – we have taken away several of their recipes. There is nothing better than the smell of freshly baked or cooked food.

Breakfast and afternoon snacks are a good time to meet other guests and share experiences. In many instances the other guests were business travellers who regularly return for the service and high quality of accommodation.

The property is very clean and kept in a very good condition; it also has a history which has been carefully documented. Guests can borrow books and videos from a very varied collection.

We would recommend this hotel and will return if visiting the LA area.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fat_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Point, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2006

This is my 7th or 8th visit to the Channel Road Inn and I have stayed in 6 different rooms. All are individually and uniquely decorated in assorted colors with antiques and linens. It's hard to pick a favorite room, but I think I liked this last "white room" the best. The duvet linens were so silky soft. and what I like most is that many have balconies where you can sit in the sun and read or nap. The windows open for fresh air and on one trip the smell of the jasmine hedge was intoxicating (in a good way). I think I mainly keep coming back for the home made chocolate chip cookies and the smell of them baking every day. Good thing they keep the shed stocked with old time beach cruisers for riding bikes into town. It was fun to educate my teenage daughter how to use the brakes on old time bikes where you push back on the pedals to make them stop. If I am traveling alone I feel very safe here. The breakfasts are tasty sometimes a little on the high sugar side and low in protein. Although the hard boiled eggs were a nice addition. My husband slipped and fell down the last part of the stairs and this is actually the second person that I have seen fall there. Maybe being an older home the stair treads are not as wide as current homes or maybe the carpet has worn slick with constant use. Use the hand rail! Our car has always been safe when parked overnight and the scenic beauty of driving down PCH to get to anything we want to do is one of the reasons we stay at this corner of Santa Monica. We were disappointed that the hot tub was not hot enough for tubbing when we got back one evening. The water was just tepid according to my husband. The last time we used it I remember it was tricky trying to get the water up to and maintained at a certain temperature. Plan ahead and ask the staff to have it ready for you at a certain temp and time. New controls and an automatic timed heater with a temperture setting would certainly make it more useful to guests. We would have liked to use it if it was warm enough. I will be back because the rooms are lovely, the location is great and my daughter attends college not too far away. But if the Channel Road Inn were ever interested in improving I just stayed at Casa Laguna in Laguna Beach for considerably less and they have taken Innkeeping to an unexpected new level. Although Channel Road Inn is great too!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank takeme2vallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2006

The Channel Road Inn is in a wonderful location just off the Pacific Coast Highway in Santa Monica. Its a wonderful old shingled mansion with interesting balconies and great rooms. Excellent service and friendly staff. Try to get room 12...great view of the Pacific. No reason to stay in a hotel...this Inn has them all beat!

Helpful?
2 Thank Hoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
961 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,227 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 219 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing