We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palihouse Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cal Mar Hotel Suites(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
American Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
The Georgian Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Carmel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
394
102
24
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
102
24
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bafternoon wine and cheesefreshly baked cookiescomplimentary winebreakfast was delicioushome away from homegarden roombed and breakfastcocktail hourother guestsbeach towelstea and coffeethe pacific coast highwayeach eveningevery morningbike ridebusy road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 531 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Once passed the locked front door, everything was welcoming! We loved the charm of the manor and it was fun to poke our noses into each new room we encountered. Our guest room was just perfect for us having as it did a fireplace, sofa, and large balcony with furniture. The staff was always willing to assist without any hesitancy or hint of being put out. The staff prepares the goodies for the breakfast and the wine & snacks. Not only were they delicious, but the cooks were happy to share their receipes with us, and even how to upgrade and change them to better suit our loves. Staff also recommended restaurants that were within walking distance. Their suggestion was first rate; we had a wondersul meal of fish and seafood.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We enjoyed staying at Channel Road Inn. They serve a nice mini buffet breakfast which includes hard boil eggs, cereals, toast/english muffins, a special egg dish, fruit, and usually fresh baked muffins or breakfast pastry. They also have orange juice, coffee, & tea.
They have lovely sitting areas where you can find find the daily newspaper, a book shelf of books some Movies to watch, and a dish of candy kisses. Also available are sodas anytime.
In the early evening they serve a lovely wine and cheese plate, with a few other surprise.
The rooms are comfortable with fireplaces, televisions,
2 chocolate chip cookies, a little vase of flowers, a teddy bear on each bed and seems to have pottery-barn accents. The price is reasonable and after being here for 2 nights, we returned a few nights later for one more. I think that confirms we would return!!
There is one room in the back that has a queen bed that is very small and I would avoid that room, unless it is the only one left.
The Inn is located a few blocks from the Ocean and near the Getty Villa which is a lovely place to visit with free advance reservation($10.00 parking fee).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carmeltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Great place just 1.8 miles north of the Santa Monica Pier nestled one block from the beach in Santa Monica Canyon. We first stayed here for New Years earlier this month with the house decorated really beautiful for the holidays. The main room and through out the house has detailed wood work and vintage accessories. The rooms we stayed in were plenty big and decorated really cool. There are a couple of porches, one in front and one on the second story were you can hang out and marinate. The afternoon at five comes out the wine and goodies, crackers, dips, cheese, etc., very good. The morning breakfast is between 7:30 and 10:00 which is good for coming in late at night and it has been both times really great. Dominique made an awesome lime coconut cake. All the people here are happy to see you and treated us extremely well. Easy access to Santa Monica above via the back way up Channel Road. We were pleased to make the second trip and look forward to return again. Look for specials on the Four Sisters Inn web site.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shadowventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

My husband and I recently returned from a three-night stay at the beautiful and relaxing Channel Road Inn in Santa Monica, which had been recommended by friends. The Inn was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away to visit area attractions! This charming getaway is home to warm, courteous staff who will ensure that your stay is everything you'd like it to be. The Inn has also received architectural recognition and stands registered as an historic landmark. But a tranquil atmpsohere and superior service aren't the only reasons to indulge...scrumptious meals, which include a gourmet breakfast buffet and afternoon tea, wine and biscuits, will leave you wanting more...much more.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank kojena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

My husband and I decided to take a last-minute getaway. Having stayed at one of their sister properties, we decided to try Channel Road. Overall, we weren't disappointed. Upon arrival the door is answered by an inn worker who promptly checked us into our room. (headsup, checkin is in the kitchen. a little strange)
All the ladies at the Inn (Nora, Heather and Nikki) were very nice and helpful in getting around, very warm and accommodating.

Our room was cute and cozy, but definitely showing a little wear especially in the bathroom where there were a few cracked tiles and missing grout along sink area. We did enjoy sitting out on the balcony and listening to the ocean and snuggling up in front of the fireplace to watch a movie. (Only VCR, no DVD player.)

Around 4-ish we decided to use the free bikes and head over to the bike trail along the beach. The Santa Monica pier is a short 2 mile ride away. The bike trail is a close block and a half away but you have to go through a smelly tunnel underground to the beach. Hold your breath. Unfortunately my husband and I were left with the last two working beach cruisers which were rusted and a bit questionnable but we took them anyway. Unfortunately halfway to the pier, the chain popped off my husband's bike so we had to chain up the bikes and walk the rest of the way to the pier. Nice thought to offer bikes but they could definitely use a little maintenance. After returning from dinner at the pier, we headed to the hot tub and boy was it hot. So hot that after a minute, you had to get out and cool off. The garden area by the hot tub was nice and private

The next morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast, better than your typical continental, in front of the fireplace and enjoyed the cozy ambiance of the room. We would definitely return again for a cozy and quick getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Realpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews