We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Channel Road Inn Santa Monica is a GEM!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Collins
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Channel Road Inn Santa Monica is a GEM!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Channel Road Inn is an excellent B&B if staying in the Santa Monica area for a few days. Very delightful tasting breakfast, fun afternoon wine & cheese hour, very clean comfortable rooms. The service is top notch, Rachel is a sweetheart making sure everything is taken care of during your stay. 2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Randy76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    98
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
338
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff were super nice, the accommodation was both beautiful, immaculate, and so comfortable (our room and public spaces) that we could easily have spent hours hanging around the house. Naturally we didn't do this as there is so much to do in LA. The location is ideal for taking a drive up Sunset Boulevard to see the likes of Bel Air, Beverly Hills, Rodeo Drive and Hollywood.

The breakfast was excellent with different freshly baked products each morning. The wafting scent of scones and the tones of classical music made the morning a wonderful experience. Fruit, yogurts and other treats were also available.

The afternoon free wine, cheese and snacks (if you happen to be in the house) make for a rather pleasant surprise.

A morning walk along the beach is worth taking as is an evening in downtown Santa Monica.

It is located very conveniently for arrival from LAX Airport and a subsequent drive up the Pacific Coast to Malibu.

A car is a necessity but that's a given everywhere you go in California. We would go back to this paradise tomorrow..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Ranelagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

After reading reviews on the Channel Road Inn, we decided to book a night. It was located very close to a venue we were attending, which made it very convenient. Parking at this B&B is extremely tight, and our midsize SUV barely fit into the space.

Upon arrival, we were met by the manager, Heather. Her demeanor was very unfriendly and curt. Not once during the check-in process did we see a smile cross her face! She escorted us to our room, which we found to be small, but comfortable. Nice decor, with very view amenities. No soap in the soap dish, but dispensers for bath gel, shampoo and conditioner in the shower. We were unable to sit out on our deck, due to the furniture being so dirty and littered with bird droppings. The bathroom towels were what my husband called, "Walmart Quality," and were very small in size. When we returned to our room at 11:30 p.m., we found that we had NO hot water for our showers or in the sink. I would have settled for warm, but it was cool to the touch! After a cold shower, at least the robes provided were a nice touch. Blow dryer did not work, and neither did one of the plugs in the bathroom. Upon waking in the morning, a spider was found at the bottom of the bed, under the sheets! So much for relaxing with a cup of coffee while lounging in bed! Breakfast was good, but the one entree offered was barely warm, even though we ate very early in the morning. The young woman serving breakfast was very warm and friendly, and sympathetic to our complaints regarding the issues with our room. She offered an immediate 10% discount off our bill, and said she would have the manger, Heather call us later in the day.
When Heather called, I explained all of the issues we experienced, and she was apologetic. She said that they had tested the hot water in our room, and did not find it to be a problem. Perhaps she should try it at 11:30 at night when you would really like it to be hot! She offered to refund the entire cost of our room, which we found to be a very nice gesture. We would not stay at this property again, bud did appreciate that the manger made every effort to rectify the situation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgilbreth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This review is long overdue. I have stayed at Channel Road Inn more than a dozen different times as a business traveler, often for multiple nights, and have slept in nearly every room. I'm no longer traveling to LA regularly, and my only regret is that I don't get to visit CRI regularly. Above and beyond the comfort and cleanliness of CRI (very comfortable, very clean - but not antiseptic), the thing that kept me coming back was the staff. They are terrific. It's like you're staying in their home and they want to be sure you enjoy the experience. They don't fawn over you; they just treat you the way a good friend would treat you if you were staying at her/his home. Though you can find a cheaper base rate in Santa Monica, it's not likely to be that much cheaper once you factor in parking (free at CRI), Internet connectivity fee (free at CRI), and breakfast (of course, always included at CRI). Breakfast has been delicious every morning of all my stays. The manager, Heather, is just brilliant; customer service seems to come very naturally for her, as she exceeds at it. I really don't want this place to develop a waiting list, but I owe it to them to share what wonderful travel experiences they have given me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagoxplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here with my mother for four nights. We stayed in room 13, which couldn't have been a more perfect room for us. It was very comfortable and quiet at night. The B&B is perfectly located just steps away from the beach. The morning breakfast spread was very nice with plenty of fruits, bread, an egg dish, cereal, coffee, orange juice, and tea. The use of the bikes was a very nice amenity, we're always available, and they looked brand new! Parking was never an issue for us. Havinh a place to stay like the Channel Road Inn was the perfect addition to a great vacation. We hope to stay here again soon!!! Thank you so much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit and we will be back. The inn is charming, the beds comfortable, the food plentiful and good. Only room comment is that our shower, in a tub, was steeply sloped and slippery. Efforts had been made with abrasive strips but some were peeling up and it could use more. We used the bikes which were in great condition. We will return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sebagolizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I cannot rave about this place enough. You will be made to feel so welcome and all the staff cannot do enough for you. We were meant to stay here on our last two nights of our honeymoon but there was a double booking and we couldn't stay there for the first night. At this point some reviewers might mark down the hotel for this but it was the tour operators fault, not the hotel's. The manager could not do enough to help us find another quality hotel for the night and then upgraded us for the night which we did stay there. She also arranged for a bottle of fizz, home baked cookies and chocolates to be waiting for us when we arrived. The manager also tirelessly helped in getting us a refund for the stay from the tour operator over the next month, which she managed to do. Great location, close to good restaurants and the beach. I must stay there again if I ever visit LA once more. You do not get hospitality like this in the UK without paying thousands! Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 219 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing