We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Return Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We first stayed at the inn around 6 years ago and returned for 3 nights in May. Since our last visit, the inn has been updated and redecorated. By chance we had the same room as last time (Room 11), which was nicely decorated, comfortable, quiet, clean and with a glimpse of the sea. However, the bed was a bit on the firm side for me this time and the room was very warm with no individual room control. Wifi is now provided, but the signal was a bit sporadic. The girls who look after the inn were all very friendly and accommodating, providing good information and making sure we were well looked after. Breakfast each morning was delicious, as was the afternoon wine and cheese buffet and there is always cake available for a tasty snack, as well as tea, coffee and soft drinks. The inn is in a nice area, close to the beach, just a short drive to the centre of Santa Monica and within easy reach of LA. Although staying at the inn is quite expensive, it is a very nice experience, although it didn’t represent the same value for money as other B&B’s we stayed in during our trip which offered the same level of service and amenities. If we return to LA, we would consider staying here again and would recommend with a couple of provisos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 528 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

After reading several reviews, I booked a weekend stay at the Channel Road Inn with my boyfriend. We had an absolutely wonderful time! We arrived early, and were able to check in a few hours in advance. The staff were incredibly welcoming, our room was clean and comfortable, and the Inn was absolutely charming. The home made breakfast was delicious and different everyday.The Inn was about a few minutes walking distance from the beach, if you're looking to visit Venice Beach or the Santa Monica Pier, I recommend borrowing their bikes. Overall, no complaints, great location, free parking, wonderful experience, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This has to be one of the most fabulous places to stay, not only in America but anywhere. What a find. Our choice was made on the fact that we were looking for somewhere fairly long term, we had a hire car but wanted to be in the vicinity, the internet brought up this B&B. Wow, for once a stroke of luck in my life.
The room was excellent, large and warm and friendly with a cosy fire that came on with a flick of a switch on those days that the Santa Monica Bloom crept in. For the days with no wind and celestial skies there was the lovely balcony to sit out on, with views across to the Ocean and Fiji beyond. The bed was comfy as were the pillows and everything was kept spotlessly clean. A sofa bed proved ideal and a desk to either write or pile on all the "stuff" that one collects. It felt quite like home. The bathroom was large and with two wash basins ideal for people who plan to go places together. Toiletries were from Bee-Kind and I wish I could find where they are on sale.
The promised Breakfast was excellent. One awoke in the morning to the smell of coffee being brewed below and baking. Every day another yummy fresh cake appeared on the Dresser together with an egg soufflé in many guises. Fresh Greek yoghurt and a selection of fruit, berries and cereal were there for the taking too.
At 4pm it is tea-time and slices of cake and cookies are laid out for those who need a little refreshment and then from 5pm until 7pm wine and "tapas" are served. If you are socially minded, a great way to make and meet new friends, if you haven't already spoken at Breakfast.
Bicycles are also available if you are brave enough to face the traffic and there are parking bays for vehicles available outside of the Inn off road.
In the pleasant and cosy communal lounge there is a computer for general use and the staff are happy to print off any information. An iron and ironing board are available in the room and there is apparently a good Coin-O-Mat for washing nearby. There are many good restaurants in the neighbourhood and some in walking distance. The beach too is 5 minutes away and if you want to pop in to the shops in either Santa Monica or Montana Avenue, well it is a few minutes bus ride away. So tell me, what could possibly be missing from your life ?
I will not tell you which Room we had in case you want to book it and that leaves us out ... suffice to say that all the rooms are very special and it is no wonder that business is usually repeat business. A great find and a wonderful stay. If you plan to visit Santa Monica I would highly recommend you book here, if you can still get in .........

Room Tip: No, because you might choose my preferred room. But then I doubt there is a room that is not exactl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpioLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent service from all the staff, couldn't do enough for you, i.e. arranged taxis and restaurant bookings.
Lounge & dining area was very comfortable and homely.
Nice to have car parking available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We traveled around California for several days and that was the best place we have stayed at (and we stayed at more expensive places too). from the moment of our arrival we felt very welcome there, got a tour of the house and were shown our room. Homemade chocolate chip cookies that waited us in the room were delicious. The place is right near the beach, so we borrowed bikes at the Inn and had a wonderful ride along the beach. We got excellent advice on where to dine and the hostess reserved a nice table at a very good restaurant down the road. Breakfast was good, even included a warm dish for a change, in addition to different baked goods and pastries.

We were very pleased with our stay even though the room was tiny. Service and warmness of people totally made up for it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We thought this inn was on a small road near the beach, not so. The road is right next to the hotel and is quite noisy during the day and evening hours. We had a room out front and it was true on this issue. We also had as well as other guests trouble getting wifi service. It was the only hotel we had problems with on a week long trip. The room was ok except for the people above making noise and someone banging on the outside wall during the day. Parking is quite tight and on a hill, use your brakes. We have stayed at quite a few highly rated bed and breakfasts but this would not be on that list. The jacuzzi did not work, hot water took forever to get hot and entry to the room was directly from outside. If you wanted to go in to get coffee or anything you had to have your key. I would not recommend this and am surprised at all the great reviews,, obviously these folks have not stayed at top rated locations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were delighted by the hospitality and comforts of the Channel Road Inn. Conveniently located in Santa Monica...close to the beach, bicycles for riding on the 26 mile beach trail and close to Malibu, the Getty Villa/Museum, as well as getting out of town on the highways! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side...for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KatBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,966 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,682 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
401 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 219 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range: $260 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing