We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent service from all the staff, couldn't do enough for you, i.e. arranged taxis and restaurant bookings.
Lounge & dining area was very comfortable and homely.
Nice to have car parking available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 530 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

We traveled around California for several days and that was the best place we have stayed at (and we stayed at more expensive places too). from the moment of our arrival we felt very welcome there, got a tour of the house and were shown our room. Homemade chocolate chip cookies that waited us in the room were delicious. The place is right near the beach, so we borrowed bikes at the Inn and had a wonderful ride along the beach. We got excellent advice on where to dine and the hostess reserved a nice table at a very good restaurant down the road. Breakfast was good, even included a warm dish for a change, in addition to different baked goods and pastries.

We were very pleased with our stay even though the room was tiny. Service and warmness of people totally made up for it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We thought this inn was on a small road near the beach, not so. The road is right next to the hotel and is quite noisy during the day and evening hours. We had a room out front and it was true on this issue. We also had as well as other guests trouble getting wifi service. It was the only hotel we had problems with on a week long trip. The room was ok except for the people above making noise and someone banging on the outside wall during the day. Parking is quite tight and on a hill, use your brakes. We have stayed at quite a few highly rated bed and breakfasts but this would not be on that list. The jacuzzi did not work, hot water took forever to get hot and entry to the room was directly from outside. If you wanted to go in to get coffee or anything you had to have your key. I would not recommend this and am surprised at all the great reviews,, obviously these folks have not stayed at top rated locations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were delighted by the hospitality and comforts of the Channel Road Inn. Conveniently located in Santa Monica...close to the beach, bicycles for riding on the 26 mile beach trail and close to Malibu, the Getty Villa/Museum, as well as getting out of town on the highways! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side...for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KatBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and i had 2 nights and was very impressed. It is beautifully presented and was a pleasure to be greated by rachel after our 16 hour flight from sydney australia. She was very friendly and professional. We booked this through expedia and feel we were given a small room compared to the other rooms we could see. We requested a queen size bed but it wasn,t the size of our queen size beds, it was definitely smaller. The b&b was beautifully presented and clean and i would still recommend it. Our room was suite 4 and was on the main roadand could hear the traffic all night. My biggest complaint was no bedside table on my side of the bed which i found very inconvient. And the bed blocked the door opening. Definitely a 3 star b&b and would still reommend it. Heather was also very friendly, courteous , helpful and efficient. Needed information on aaa locations and even wrote down the address and details.

Was definitely worth money for value. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked a cosy queen through Expedia & after reading many reviews I was looking forward to it, HOWEVER I was so disappointed.

Shocking, dusty, dirty, damp, mouldy, damp bed sheets, B&B, stay away from room 13!!!! I complained as this is not what they advertised and they moved us to another room (she tried to charge me extra but I refused to pay) second room was roomier and not so damp but still in my opinion dirty. Gardens are unkept and old sink just left on paths as are broken pots. Not even going to talk about the spa... Closed but you can try and sit on the chairs ... Just hope you don't fall through it! Dirty and rusty!

We have travelled extensively and this is by far the worst place I've stayed in. I have no idea how or why it gets such great reviews and I question the authenticity of those reviews. I am also baffled as to why the owners have not replied to any reviews. I so hope they reply to this one.

The only reason why I've given this property 2 stars is it was a roof over our heads but in no way a place you would like to spend a few hours in just to relax. They offered free soft drinks, tea & coffe and afternoon snacks with wine. These were not bad but take the milk out of the fridge as the ones on the counters have gone off from sitting around all day.

Wi fi didn't work (apparently they were having provider issues) ... Not great when your relying on it.

At first impression it doesn't look bad but don't look too close.... see pictures

Room 13 didn't have a descent lock, no safe and no bed head.

We were offered free bikes to use however you can take your pick from bikes without peddles, ripped seats with missing springs, warped wheels, rusty, dirty and they give you a lock to use.... Believe me no one would take them cause they are sooooo old and in such bad shape.

A good 35 min walk to Santa Monica pier and in my opinion we didn't feel safe walking around after dark! We grabbed something to eat before getting back and didn't leave the room... (although it was the last place I felt like being in). Staff not very knowledgable with regards to public transport.

WARNING STAY AWAY FROM ROOM 13. Room 15 is better however still mouldy and dusty. At least the bed didn't feel damp.

My pictures explain the poor state of this B&B

A note to the owners... Please for the sake of your business close down room 13 and use it as storage as its not fit for human inhabitants and look for a new cleaner.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 13...some reviews read stay away from the back of the B&B due to main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rcorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Inn following our first visit 3 years previously. This time we stayed 3 nights and once again were really happy with the surroundings, room and friendliness of the staff. Our room was very comfortable as was the bed and we were made to feel really welcome.

The road the inn sits on is quite busy so be aware that rooms at the front may be a bit noisier than those are rear. Do remember this is a B&B style property rather than full blown hotel so be realistic about facilities and services on offer. Having said that, there are bikes to borrow free of charge, the staff are knowledgable and friendly, wine and cheese are served each afternoon, tea and coffee are available pretty much all of the time and there are home baked cakes every day.

Common areas are well maintained and comfortable and I would say this is a great place to base yourself to enjoy Santa Monica and LA.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
644 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,998 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,267 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,632 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 219 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range: $262 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing