We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice At The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

In our SoCal trip in February we spent two nights at the Channel Road Inn. A great choice. The hotel sits in the shallow Channel Road canyon, just below the Santa Monica bluff adjacent to the hillsides of Pacific Palisades and about a block from the beach. The building was once an architecturally distinct two story, shingled residence in the old neighborhood atop the Santa Monica bluff. It was removed from it's bluff top neighborhood over forty years ago to its present site in the canyon where it was purchased and remodeled into a B&B after its owner / movers failed to complete it as a residence. The result is a pleasant B & B that retains a few features of the original house.
Our room was an informal and quite unique arrangement on the ground floor which included a main bedroom with a king bed, a large bathroom with a generous tub and shower, and a smaller sleeping room with a single bed which also functioned as a wide couch. The managers told us some couples use the small room for children. Some as an alternative sleeping space in the event one partner/spouse wants to read until late into the night. My wife used it as a dressing room, a great use! Both the sleeping room and the dressing room had doors opening to paths connecting to the parking area, a great benefit when unloading bags. The room was quiet with no street or adjacent noises. The tub/shower options were very good with shower head multiple shower head settings, and a relaxing tub length. The room maintenance was excellent. We regret were not able to see any upstairs rooms, the hotel was full.
The breakfast selection included a variety of cereals, yogurt, fruit, baked eggs in a casserole, breads and pastries, all very fresh. Plenty of choices for the cholesterol challenged. The afternoon wine service, a very good Chardonnay with a variety of cheese, crackers and olives during our stay, was likewise enjoyable.
Santa Monica proper is up the bluff from the Channel Road canyon. You can walk Channel Road to the east a few blocks to a set of stairs on the opposite side of the street that will take you up the bluff to 4th. Street, a residential main street in Santa Monica. Once up there, walk a few blocks south and turn east to 7th street, the western edge of downtown. From there, the shops and restaurants of Santa Monica proceed west. If you want to look for a dinner spot near the Channel Road Inn, the management will gladly supply you with a list of what's nearby (there are some good choices), and call the restaurant of your choice to make a reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paramount81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 514 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

As we were flying back home the next day we felt that this would be a good location, not too far from the airport. The location of this B&B in Santa Monica is great. You are close to everything. Not far from the downtown, Pier, the beach and lots of great restaurants in the vicinity. We just walked down the street to one of the local restaurants for dinner.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Check in and out was fast and easy. The staff put out all kinds of nice appetizers and wine in the afternoon. For breakfast there is an assortment of fruit, hard boiled eggs, toast, pastries and a hot dish which on the morning we were there was a wonderful quiche like puff. Great coffee. A delicious breakfast.
We had a room at the back of the building which was very quiet. There was a nice little deck to sit out on. Bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean.
Unfortunately we were there only that one night but next time we go back to L.A. we will certainly go back and stay there for longer this time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here one night to celebrate my birthday. We stopped here on our way up to Ojai. The Bed and Breakfast is so pretty. Our room was cozy and lovely. We really enjoyed the afternoon wine and appetizers. it was a nice way to start our evening. The breakfast was delicious. The staff is so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our week-long stay at the Channel Road Inn in Santa Monica. Located just two blocks from the ocean, this bed and breakfast boasts beautiful rooms, tasty breakfasts, and a very friendly, attentive and helpful staff. The location is ideal as you are only minutes from downtown Santa Monica, Malibu, The Getty, or route 10, if you need to venture elsewhere (depending on traffic, of course).

Room Tip: If you are seeking quiet, ask for a room away from the street side.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and my Mum stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Maui.
Such a nice place to stay. So friendly and helpful with a great fresh breakfast to boot.
We had the garden room at the back and it was great. Tidy and CLEAN! super cosy too.
Mum was upstairs in room 10 that was again lovely.
Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Im so glad that i chose the Channel Road Inn as my place to stay in Santa Monica. A nice healthy breakfast to get you off to a good start in the morning.Beautiful rooms, nice lounge area to relax in , nice porch to sit on and very friendly and helpful staff. I arrived late on my first night and missed the complimentary wine, cheese and nibbles, but they saved some for me and that was lovely on my arrival after a very loooooong day.
A walk along the beach to the Santa Monica Pier and shops was a delight and the weather was glorious.
I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: I had a cozy queen room and it more that suited my needs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibbcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

It was very close to the beach with bikes to borrow. The staff was exceptionally friendly and we met lots of other nice guests during our weekend stay. It is not for children but a great place for adult get away. The room was small but very nice and there is no need to spend much tine there with so much public space. The afternoon wine reception was lots of fun and the breakfast was fabulous

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,895 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,070 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,316 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 219 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range: $261 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing