We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of peace in LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

A lovely house with beautiful public rooms. Fireplace on every morning. Very nice breakfast and staff very helpful. It does have street noise since the front of the house faces the street. That's how you know you're in the city not country.

We were in room 9 that also had a fireplace. Nice big bathroom too.

I certainly would return again. Someone on staff sleeps here too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysShopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 514 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Channel Rd Inn is the place to stay in the Santa Monica area. The service was superb and the accommodations were first rate all the way. The staff here are all very friendly and eager to make sure your stay is pleasant and enjoyable. From directions to excellent food and snacks, wine and beverages, this place hits a home run all the time. Feels like a home away from home - except we don't have to do the dishes. Our room was charming with plenty of space and the bathroom was nicely updated and equipped. WiFi was available everywhere in the place. The front porch was a nice place to enjoy my morning coffee. We never had any problem parking in there lot. Definitely a place we will come back to next time we get out to that area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

From when I first emailed about Channel Road Inn the quick response and helpful advice that I received from Rebecca, Heather and Anna was exceptional. I felt like a friend and not just someone who was on vacation. On our arrival the hostess was equably as friendly and helpful and we arrived just in time for the Wine and pre dinner nibbles.

We had a lovely room on the top floor- the deluxe guest room , it was spacious clean and the welcoming note and biscuits a real surprise. The bed was comfy, and very quiet at night.

We made use of the bikes to ride to Venice beach and the beach chairs to laze around in. I thought the price was very reasonable compared to many of the Santa Monica hotels we have stayed in before. Free Wifi and parking was an added bonus.As it is a bit further out of the main tourist area a car is necessary if you wish to stay in this lovely B&B .

Thank you for a lovely two nights on our way to Europe.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe king Guestroom which was quiet but did have stairs to climb if you are not so phys...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Canada. Very pleasant ambience , friendly staff. The only negative which was VERY disappointing was we didn't get the room we thought we had booked even had a photos of it on our booking invoice. We were given room 4 which was small, dark (required the light on at all times) & very noisy at night if you left the window open. Staff said there was nothing they could do about it.

Room Tip: Don't choose the queen room No 4.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This beautiful B&B is situated at the edge of Santa Monica with a walk of a couple of minutes to the beach.
This was our first stop on a 14 day trip and we arrived later than planned due to the heavy traffic.
Rebecca had wine, cheese and biscuits waiting for us and could not have been more welcoming.
We had a small garden room which was prettily decorated and well equiped. It was just perfect for our one nights stay.
Breakfast was served in the main house and had a real personal touch.Rebecca had baked the cake to her own recipe, and there was a selection of fruit, breads and juices. The homebaked quiche was lovely.
A great thing to do here is to borrow one of the Inns bikes and cycle along the seafront - we were heading off early so no time to do this ourselves.
Two weeks later and at the end of our trip we found ourselves back at the coast at Santa Monica. I wondered if we popped to the Channel Road Inn and asked, we could arrange to hire a couple of their bikes for the day.
Heather (manager) was just incredible. She offered us the bikes at no charge, let us park our car and offered us breakfast before we set off on our ride. I really don't think it gets better than that.
As other reviews show this is a beautiful Inn on a gorgeous stretch of coast and if you enjoy individual service then book up for a stay.

Room Tip: If you like a spacious room then ask for one. The garden room may be too small for the tastes of man...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Channel Road Inn following excellent reviews online and in Conde Nast. We weren't disappointed. We were welcomed by a really lovely host, who showed us around and to our room, where there was a welcome note and fresh cookies waiting for us. It was like staying in someone's house!

We were told to help ourselves to cans of Coke, coffee and tea, which was a nice touch. In the afternoon delicious freshly baked cake was waiting for us and then appetizers and wine were laid on at 5pm for us to enjoy before heading out for the evening. One thing is for sure, you won't go hungry staying here!

Our room was light and airy, perfectly decorated with lovely antique art deco style furniture, the bathroom was well stocked with amenities, and there were plenty of towels. The bed was so comfy, the bed linen really soft and luxurious and lots of pillows.

Breakfast was amazing too! Bagels, lots of different types of toast, eggs, cake and cookies. We didn't go hungry that morning!

If you're visiting LA for the first time, do your research; the hotel is about 30mins to West Hollywood (a $45 cab ride) if you want to go out for dinner or drinks in a more buzzy and lively area. If you're happy with a more chilled out stay in LA close to the beach, then we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We would have loved to stay here again. Although a bit on the pricier side, this is a really nice hotel in santa monica. The beach is a 10 min walk and there are many good restaurants located in the neighbourhood of the hotel. The atmosphere is really good with many sofas to relax on and ample space. The entire hotel is nicely decorated. We also liked sitting on the porch.

Breakfast is home made and in good la-style healthy and nutritious. They offer complimentary beack bikes which we really enjoyed. They gave us a complimentary upgrade. The room was spacious and cosy. The bed was a bit hard but nice. All in all this is so worth the money, complimentary bikes, free parking, location, atmosphere and wine buffet. Just go!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank FLOFLO3180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,896 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,071 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,316 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 219 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range: $261 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing