We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bountiful breakfast - not!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I'm not sure where to start with this review, but will say something nice to begin with - the staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly; the bedroom was clean and comfortable but I had expected more and there were a few disappointments with this property.
1. Breakfast - Egg and cheese slice (hot) + 2 x cakes (very nice cakes but for breakfast?) + fruit platter + toast + OJ and coffee. This breakfast was not "bountiful" as described on their website - particularly not for my meat-eating companion and for the amount paid per night.
2. Sour food smell throughout the ground floor - the kitchen needs better ventilation or garbage bins need cleaned.
3. Bicycles were advertised and we used them - to get to downtown Santa Monica but were 'cruiser' type - no brakes or gears both bikes and helmets were in poor repair. Obviously not maintained, when we pointed this out we were told "we rely on the guests to tell us if there are problems'. Umm, I wonder how that would work legally if a guest did have an accident with the bikes.
4. The spa looks nice on the web site - but in fact is not restful as noise from the nearby busy road can be heard even into the evening.
I have stayed at Four Sisters properties in the past and this was why we'd choosen this location, my memory was that the chain was better, nicer than I found this one.
This location obviously has it's followers, we met them, but like other recent reviewers we found the property a bit tired and over-priced.
i'll end with something good - afternoon drinks and nibbles (good for a chat with other guests) and the driver's the property uses, both drivers were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sim_zlatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialbutterfly, Director of Marketing at Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

We are so sorry to hear that this guest was disapointed that there was not meat offered during our breakfast buffet each morning. Please know that due to health regulations, we do not serve meat at any of our Four Sisters Inns locations. We do however offer an abundance of other items, including fresh baked goods such as muffins or coffeecake and the like, always a wonderful hot dish whether a delicious quiche or pancakes or the like, and then a full offering of fruit, yogurt, breads to toast, juice, coffee, and more. I have shared this comment with both the President of Four Sisters Inns as well as the manager of the inn and they are working to make sure our breakfast offering is as bountiful as it should be. When I spoke with the manager she did say that the bikes are used very frequently and she actually had just placed another order for four new bikes. Our hot tub is situated on the hillside behind the building and affords privacy however the inn is located in Los Angeles and is not in a quiet and serene location as many of our other Four Sisters Inns are and we are just so sorry to hear about this guests disapointment in their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 529 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

My mother and I recently stayed at the Channel Road Inn for 4 nights, and we could not have felt more at home. All of the innkeepers were quick to offer help and advice. Need a dinner reservation? Done. Want tickets to an exhibition? Done. The wine and cheese in the evenings was nice, breakfast was delicious, and the house was beautiful with lots of nooks and quiet corners. We watched a movie and read books from the Inn's library, and generally enjoyed our wonderful stay. Thank you Channel Road Inn, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eajohn0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I agree with the previous reviewer. I wanted to write a review simply to balance out all the glowing reviews. It's a nice enough place, but it's really nothing special. It seems a little tired. It's a long way to downtown Santa Monica, and the walk to the beach involves getting across the very busy PCH. It was way, way too much money for a B&B of this quality. Many, many better choices around LA for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoPlaceLikeMIHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were a little disappointed to be honest: the place seemed a little tired and in need of an update (still using VCRs for instance). The rooms seem a bit variable and I'm sure some were better than ours. Expensive for an average room. Location nearly 2 miles from downtown Santa Monica (it looks nearer on the map).

Room Tip: The rooms with verandas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TPLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Four Sisters Inns during our annual romantic getaway to California for the past 2 years. We made it a point to ask relatives for gift certificates to the Inns for Xmas... we have stayed at 4 of the properties to date and Channel Rd has been our favorite!! The staff was terrific but Rebecca was sensational. We were promptly upgraded to the SPA Suite when they realized we were on a mission to stay at all the Four Sisters properties ( this trip we also stayed at the Green Gables Inn) .The location allowed us to visit Malibu, Beverly Hills, Bel Air, Hollywood Blvd...I could not imagine a better place to stay!!! Breakfast as always was fabulous and afternoon wine and cheese is a nice relaxing break in the day to look over the local menus. Also to note: When Rebecca heard we had a 9:00 p.m. Friday night flight on Easter weekend out of LAX she called a sister property closer to the airport and asked if we could relax there a couple hours prior to avoid traffic. Concierge service at the highest level!! We love all the inns and recommend them them highly.

Room Tip: Ask for the Spa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We just completed a 4 night stay at the Channel Road Inn. We were very pleased with everything! The inn is charming -- very cozy with a fireplace and comfortable seating in the living room. The dining areas are bright and cheerful. There are lovely outdoor areas but, due to the weather, we weren't able to enjoy them. Our sleeping room was spacious with a queen bed and a small sitting area. The bath was large and well-equipped with amenities. The staff were very friendly and gracious. You can tell they love their work! We especially enjoyed our conversations with Rebecca and Dominique. The food was noteworthy -- hot breakfast with excellent soufflés, fresh baked goods and fresh fruit. The afternoon snack was also excellent. There was a variety of choices (crackers and cheese, dips, nuts, veggies, etc.). My only suggestion would be a slightly higher quality white wine. My husband said the red was good. When you consider all of the food plus the fact that parking is free, it's a very good value. The location is also excellent. We would definitely recommend this inn and hope to return again soon. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geegeesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The Channel Road Inn is a B&B only 2 blocks from the Santa Monica Beach. Each guest room is uniquely designed and beautifully decorated to make you feel like home. Homemade chocolate chip cookies were waiting for us in the room. The personal service was outstanding. Rebecca, Dominique and Heather are an asset. They helped us with dining and entertainment recommendations, plus directions. They serve a bountiful breakfast which can be enjoyed in the light filled rooms of the living room and parlors. The parking is free at the Inn. We had beautiful walks in the surrounding neighborhoods and ran on the wide public beach. We had our college age sons with us, and I thought they would think this Inn was too romantic and quaint....I was totally wrong. This was their favorite "hotel" on our California trip. They had a large corner room on the third floor with a sofa and large windows with views. My husband and I took a smaller queen which was perfect. One block away is the restaurant Sam's at the Beach. I highly recommend! One of our best meals ever!! Sam uses many of his northern Syrian family recipes, plus incorporated his approach to California cuisine. The 3 nights at the Channel Road Inn were outstanding. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_it_at_the_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,967 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
402 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 219 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range: $260 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing