We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster-y place. Don't know if it is the trendsetter or the copycat. Food is good nonetheless”
Review of Rustic Canyon

Rustic Canyon
Ranked #78 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: 11th
Hertzelia, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hipster-y place. Don't know if it is the trendsetter or the copycat. Food is good nonetheless”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ate here with my wife on a trip to LA. Place was packed on a Monday night. Seemed to be the cool place to be.

Menu has focus on locally-sourced products. The menu, and the waiter, for that matter, were a bit pretentious. Like in that "I'm too cool for you" hipster-y way. Dude, I grew up in a rural area, so we called "local-sourced" food just plain "food". But, the food was very good. Won't bother mentioning specifics, since the menu changes daily, but everything we had was tasty, surprising (in a good way), presented in a very aesthetic manner and portion sizes were appropriate--not too large nor small. Service was excellent!

As it turned out, this was the first of a number of meals out in the SoCal area. Many of the restaurants had similar style menus (ie house-made charcuterie, local/artisanal cheese plate, kale salad, etc.)--it was like these places took more-or-less the same menu, which made me wonder who was first w/ this trend. Rustic Canyon was probably the best of these similarly menu-ed places.

But, the food was good and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    19
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Great service. ”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Courtney, our waitress was extremely knowledgable on the menu - even to the point of how the food was prepared. We ordered 4 appetizers to share. Each one was sublime! The kale salad was to die for; as was the kiwi salad, the broccoli salad and the gnocchi - none of us wanted to share that it was so good!

We all chose the roast chicken and that too was delicious. Moist, perfectly cooked and accompanied by an amazing mixture of vegetables with corn.

At $60 per head without drinks it's not a cheap place, but with food and service like that, you're happy to pay it.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly, Idaho
Level Contributor
261 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“over-rated, pricey, but ho-hum taste”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Inspired by LA Times Food critic, Jonathan Gold's review we selected this restaurant on the way to live theatre in Bergamot station. This tiny restaurant was packed, so noisy, I couldn't hear myself think!
The portions were small, prices high, but taste and presentation lack-lustre. The diver scallops was served with "bloomsdale" spinach, cauliflower, vadouvan, topped with pine-nut relish. The California shrimp, scampi style was rubbery and they drowned it further with calabrian chilli butter. It was served with a grilled lemon. Why kill the lemon too? Much prefer fresh lemon juice to cut the grease and brighten the flavor some. The clam & mussel pozole verde was very stringent -- too much lime juice in it. Needless to say, we are scratching Rustic Canyon off our list. Sorry folks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Kells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“**FAVORITE DATE NIGHT RESTAURANT IN SANTA MONICA**”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Romantic ambiance.

Sat at a table where there was elbow room.

Menu was amazing.

Daily and fresh.

YES.

ORDERED:

HALF DOZEN RAW KUSSHI OYSTERS ($18)
For $3 a shell, it better be good. The oysters were small, but sweet.

SPRING PEA AGNOLOTTI ($16)
I love hand made pasta but out of the 3 pasta dishes, this was my least favorite. I preferred the rustic SPAGHETTI ALLA CHITARRA ($16) with the beautiful black trumpet mushrooms flavor.

VANILLA CAKE ($10)
Wasn't mind-blowing and thought it was pretty average; especially for a $10 dessert.

Also ordered a lovely bottle of the Duckhorn Decoy ($55) which went very well with the pasta dishes.

Everyone raved about the burger here, but I was all about the pastas.

Dinner for 2 with tax and tip was $160.

Good spot for romance and good food.

RECOMMEND.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food . Terrible lighting”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Very good food from clearly locally sourced producers. Extensive if somewhat expensive wine list.

Lighting is very flat. Basically awful

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 362MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustic Canyon also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Rustic Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing