We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay for a couple of nights in awesome location!”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Me and a friend of mine stayed here in December and absolutely loved it! We got a great deal on their website, obviously the place isn't 5 star but for the price is great. It's clean and fairly modern. There's even a really cute deck up top which would be a nice area to sit (unfortunately we didn't get to as it was raining). One thing that stopped me giving it five stars is the bathroom which was just average with a tiny bath and the shower was not strong at all. However it definitely makes up for it in value, good location and friendly staff. The man at the reception gave us a map and recommended some places for us to go and was very helpful.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise when it comes to night time maybe ask for a room away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 486 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the seaview for 3 nights. Our room was number 12 and very nice. The whole hotel takes you back in time, while it's nicely renovated. Room was clean and shower water pressure was great!
Towels were nearly falling apart, since they are old and washed out.
The lady at the check-in was not too friendly but ok. The guy from the office was very friendly and helpful (even with the parking), thank you!
Overall: great place for a great price (88$/night) with great location! Note: there are others motels in the same street..maybe worth a price check?

Note

2  Thank ThusisGR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We (couple with small child) stayed three nights at this hotel over Thanksgiving. The location is fabulous for Santa Monica; very easy, short walk to the beach, the pier, and downtown. This hotel is right on Ocean Avenue, just a couple of properties down from the "premier" beach hotels. The room was a decent size, including a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, stove, small kitchen table, and our downstairs unit (unit 6) had a private patio with a table and chairs. This property is easily half the price of the other hotels on Ocean Avenue; the reason for that is the hotel "extras" are very limited, and this is not a fancy hotel. There is no pool, no ice machine. The small kitchen has a limited selection of dishes, none for cooking (no pots and pans), no dishsoap or drying rack or anything. I washed the dishes with Dr. Bronners I had brought myself...(if you stay here, wash your dishes before you use them; as no soap is provided I could imagine people using the dishes, just rinsing them and putting them back on the shelf...) No shampoo, no alarm clock (but who doesn't use their smartphone for that anymore?). This is a "family-style" property; like you are borrowing a friend's beach crash pad. The unit was clean, but needs some TLC; the shower grout was getting moldy (looks like original tile), the patio curtain was torn at a corner and I had to rig it closed with a bobby pin so light wouldn't flood the room, the sheets had stains, the towels were pretty shabby. This is not the fancy hotel where you should come expecting luxury; this is a cheap crash pad so you can spend your money elsewhere on your vacation. The beds were comfortable. The walls are very thin; we did not appreciate our drunken neighbors at 3 in the morning, but that is hardly the hotel's fault. The plants on the property are really pretty; someone here loves to garden. The decor was basic but modern. The staff are very friendly, we felt welcome here. Free parking in Santa Monica is great. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would stay here again. Come expecting a cheap, friendly motor lodge in a fabulous location and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinnamontoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Having read all the reviews for this "hotel/motel", I was looking forward to the stay.
And it was HORRIBLE!!

I have no idea who wrote the reviews on your website for this place, but anything positive is not credible.

My room, which was one of the "better" ones, was a mess.
The rooms have NO telephone.
They have NO TV channel listing nor listing on the TV.
And they are NOISY!
My shower floor looked like something you would see on the floor of a car wash, which had not been updated for 20 years. Literally! As many black & gray sections as somewhat-white.
And the major negative is the almost endless noise from Ocean Avenue traffic.
Since the windows all seem to not be sealed, even though my room was back a bit from the street, it was the loudest/noisiest of any I have ever experienced, in the U.S. or any 3rd world country.
Plus the walls seem very thin, as I could hear the neighboring room chatter, and the screaming baby.
As one who stays in hotels/motels on business trips, generally lower priced ones for 9 or 10 nights each month, Seaview Hotel is the Very Bottom of the pack.
Please, for your own experience, do not believe all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor for Seaview Hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go as far from Ocean Avenue as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A great place to stay, so close to the pier. Our room was large and included a kitchenette. Staff were very friendly & gave helpful tips. Free wifi. Free parking (albeit limited - try to arrive early if possible). Amazing price given the location! Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Annabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I decided we would travel to LA and the drive from there to Vegas for our 1 year anniversary. Knowing we would be spending ALOT of money we needed a hotel which was based in Santa Monica and a great price, but in the centre of everything. This hotel was perfect! We were able to have a parking space on arrival and the staff were SOOO friendly! We arrived around 7pm and were hungry, they gave us a map of Santa Monica and told us where the best places to eat where. Circling great tourist attractions along the way we managed to get dinner and sight see all at the same time. The room was so much better then we expected, clean, spacious, comfortable and we had a huge TV in there too. The wasn't any air con in our room though just a fan, but it was ok. The bathroom was ok a swell. We had a shower, sink and toilet. However I must say the toilet roll was very thin (as a women you notice these things!) so be prepared. Towels were provided along with soaps. The only thing I would say that let's it down is the building work across the road. It's not the hotels fault, it simply is that as soon as it hits 7am, it gets really loud outside your window and pretty much wakes you up. The location is great as you can walk to the pier and are not far from Venice beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Seaview is a great little place. Each room has its own character and furnishings. Some rooms have a kitchenette which could really save a lot of money over a longer Santa Monica stay. The place is less than half most of the other hotels along Ocean Ave and is only 1 block from the beach, not far from Santa Monica Pier, etc. Friendly front desk, great service, clean. NOISY, with lots of urban noise from Ocean Ave especially (and, currently, an epic construction project going on right across the street) so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. Also, if you like in-room coffee, bring your own coffee pot. Other amenities missing: drinking cups, shampoo, soap (there is soap, but it wasn't very good). The outside deck is a great place to sit and hang out. Enjoy the amazing savings of this place, surrounded by hotels with rooms for $450 and up. If you are going to Santa Monica to get out to the beach, walk around the town, drive into LA and generally be active, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorgalfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
638 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
652 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#35 of 36 in Santa Monica
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,005 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
566 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: 1760 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $102 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing