We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaview Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great for the price. Half the price of everything in Santa Monica, and not a cockroach motel. Room was comfortable. a couple blocks from downtown Santa Monica and 2 blocks from the beach!!! Great Location. The room was clean and we someone got upgraded to a bigger room that did have a big fridge and microwave and coffee maker. It was a little noisy in the morning, but after closing the windows and turning on the fan it was almost impossible to hear the noise.

People were very nice, I don't know why others say they were rude. I left the light on in my car for 2 days, and the battery died. The guy ran real fast to the restaurant next door to find an employee with a car to jump mine. He was very nice about it, and didn't seem annoyed at all. More concerned for us and the car since we were driving from Colorado.

I will definitely stay here again if in Santa Monica, unless I win the lottery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    181
    95
    32
    34
See reviews for
69
233
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, great location (near the shops, restaurants, pier, and beautiful beach!) and good value! Comfy bed, free parking (very useful in Santa Monica!) and even a small kitchen! Just make sure you book it in advance as they are always fully booked!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over the 4th July 2013. We read the reviews and considering the price we opted to stay here. When we arrived at the Motel we where a bit disappointed, the reception area it was very messy and untidy, we where given our key and pleasantly surprised with our room, the bed was clean, the bathroom and kitchen needs updating but this motel is considerably cheaper than most in this area so again you get what you pay for. The man who was on reception was an amazing help, he got out the Santa Monica map and highlighted best eateries, shops and other places we didn't know existed. Our room was right beside the reception (noisy at night with new guests etc) and our fence was low so we didn't feel comfortable sitting out. We didn't hang around the motel much it was basically a bed for 2 nights. If your looking for luxury book somewhere else, if you looking for cheap accommodation in the heart of Santa Monica this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belfast16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Older property but well maintained. Rooms nice size with small kitchen area. Beds newer and comfortable. Bathrooms small and need updated. Minimal amenities. Towels small and thin. Curtains on the patio doors could be more adequate at covering the doors so lights are shining in at night when sleeping. WiFi sporadic and only able to connect in certain areas of hotel. Cozy and quaint, only 18 units. Cute roof top sun deck with plenty of chairs. Be sure to ask for room away from Ocean Ave side as there is major construction across street where a new condo complex is being built. Recommend Cora's next door for breakfast and Casa Martin, Chez Jay and Bruno's Italian for lunch or dinner just down the street. Rosa the owner is on site. Felt safe even considering there's only a turn lock on door knob. No dead bolt. The JW Marriott and Lowe's Hotels are near Seaview and cost twice as much. More amenities and service at those places but none of the character.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbyrd327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Please take your time to read this, as I don't want the same thing to happen to you:

Recently, a group of friends and I decided to stay at this hotel seeing how the reviews were good and we were looking for a cheap place to stay. Reviews are correct about decent rooms and the excellent location. It was great until a traumatizing incident occurred during our first night staying there. While asleep, my girlfriend and I were completely startled at 4 AM when a man opened and walked into our room. After the man saw how we jumped up from our bed in shock he immediately shut the door, so it was difficult for us to completely identify him since it was dark in our room. However, I did notice that he was holding a key to our room, which allowed him to open the locks. We could not fall asleep after, and we waited the next morning to tell the front desk since their office was closed at 10. It was very very disappointing with how the lady at the front desk treated us and dealt with our situation. We just wanted to know who it was, and why they had access to our key to open it at 4 am. She could not provide us with an answer. She even said, "well what do you want me to do about it" as if, it was not serious, showing no sympathy whatsoever. Yes they do have cameras in that building, but when we asked if we could go through it she said that there were no camera's on our side. I do not understand the concept of having camera's and screens when the whole hotel isn't covered. Til this day, it scares me with the thought of what could have happened if my friend and I didn't wake up. PLEASE PLEASE, if I were you I would spend the extra money for a safer hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mich e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our US trip. We chose the Seaview for value as the hotels in SM are so expensive! We read the reviews and considering the price we opted to stay here. We checked in late and as we had phoned ahead of time they kept the office open for us (I believe it is open until 10pm). We were helped to our room (upstairs, no lift) with our bags and also given a map and some tips on where to shop and get coffee.

Pros
-Location! Great place close to the beach and ten mins away from main shopping malls.
-Recently updated. Ikea-esque but bright.
-Beautiful grounds, full of flowers and with sun deck.
-Good, free wifi

Cons
-Could be cleaner, we did not want to use the kitchen really and the bathroom could do with a good update!
-Very noisy. We had a room by the road and even with the TV on the road noises could be explicitly heard. Bring ear plugs!
-Would be great if they had a little breakfast nook, maybe just some coffee/water and pastries to get the day going as not near a grocery store.

Regardless, as mentioned the Loews next door charged more per night for a basic stay than the Seaview cost for two nights. Given that, it is great value in an expensive part of town!

Room Tip: Away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unlikelyrose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

At the time we stayed here they were building across the road and will be for another 6 months which meant we were woken up at 7am everyday with banging and drilling. It kinda didn’t matter to me as we wanted to be up and out visiting everything we needed to do. The beach is within spitting distance and the pier a short walk. The people that run this place are great, very friendly and will always give you help and guidance for the surrounding areas. The rooms are basic but always very clean and made up every day. There isn’t a local store to this place but that doesn’t really matter as there are plenty of places nearby if you have a car. Parking is scarce and it’s a first come first serve, but saying that we didn’t have any trouble parking. There is a person working 24/7, so if you need help someone is always around. Hollywood is only 15 miles up the road and very easy to get to as is Venice beach which is only 2 miles up the road. Plenty to do and see and no matter what the noise was I would go back again.

Room Tip: Chosse a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fonseca-Denning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Santa Monica
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: 1760 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing