We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and value, hotel only ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location and value, hotel only ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the cheapest places to stay in Santa Monica and its location near the beach (just one street ) was excellent. Its also a short walk to the shops and restaurants.
The room itself was more like a small apartment set round a small courtyard which was quite pleasant.
Bedding was clean but the bathroom felt a bit grubby/dated as did the small kitchen which we didn't use. The walls/floors are also thin so you can hear people moving around/talking.
However, i am not saying don't stay here, its still a great location, and if the things that bugged me don't bother you it will be great.
Oh they offer free wifi too which is really helpful.
Hotel is listed as sea view motel in sat nav if your taxi driver doesn't know where it is!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triplady329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    160
    79
    29
    32
See reviews for
60
206
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great place to stay! Very short walk to Santa Monica Pier, 3rd St. Promenade and Venice Beach. Felt very safe. Hotel room is clean, roomy. The staff are friendly and courteous. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annhorvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I needed a cheap and cheerful place for an overnight stay, and this certainly fit the bill. Room was clean, and bed comfy. There is a lot of noise from the building works opposite, but this stopped at night . . . in fact I woke up at 4am because everything was so quiet! Easy walk to 3rd Street Promenade and the beach etc. You get what you pay for - the place is very basic - the towels are very thin, and not even a glass in the room, and no hope of making a cuppa. (Coffee shop next door serves REAL coffee - nice!) I had a late night flight, and was able to leave my bags in the office once I checked out. Staff are friendly and helpful.
By the way - there is a bus(#3) from LAX which takes you to within walking distance to this hotel . . . not bad for $1 versus a $40+ cab fare :-)

Room Tip: I would ask to be away from Ocean Ave if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheilyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

i was genuinely worried about my reservation not getting honored after reading reviews here. luckily, this wasn't the case. i missed my flight, so i arrived 6 hours after i was supposed to, at around 8pm. their 'no vacancy' sign was on, and i was worried they'd given away my room. the two people in the office were both really nice. the guy mentioned that he'd called me to confirm my reservation, but i missed the call (true)...but they didnt give away my room anyway- he also helped me carry my bags to my room.

'shabby chic' is a good way to describe this place. i am definitely happy with the location, price, and size of the room. my one gripe is that the towels and bedding look like they need to be replaced- they have yellowy stains on them that are visible under direct light. a drippy faucet kept me from taking a nap in the middle of the day.

i also was able to (surprisingly) find a parking space in their very small lot given that they were at full occupancy. i don;t know if this is the norm. my space was also still there when i came back from a friends' at 2am.

Room Tip: try the eggplant penne at the cafe next door. it is really delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed there 5 nights very happy.Everything is in walking distance. Rooms are nice, clean, nice furniture.... I don't think you can get anything better for the price. If you have a car defiantly ask about additional parking their parking lot gets full really fast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights from 26th December .
Very big comfy bed.
Close to everything.
Clean room.was very good for the price.
Will stay again if we go to Santa Monica again.
Lots of great places to eat close by,Bruno's Italian,cheap and good food.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mindyb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I stayed here earlier this month. All of the great reviews are true. The rooms are spacious, recently remodeled, and clean. We made reservations on their website and had no problems. It is a super close walk to the pier and 3rd Street. Thanks to another reviewer, we had breakfast at Cora's Coffee next to the hotel and loved it. We also had dinner at Bruno's Italian Restaurant (just down the street from the hotel) and loved that place too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 with 2 double beds and it was clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank varelainvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: 1760 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing