We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Seaview!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaview Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the Seaview!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We've been staying at the Seaview Hotel for the past couple of years. I haven't wanted to review it before, worrying that the secret would get out....well, it's out, and I have to tell you it's the best bang for your buck you will ever find in Santa Monica!!!

We were there this past weekend, and again, it exceeded our expectations! We have always stayed on the 2nd floor, but this time we were on the ground floor and we loved it! Nice little private patio right off the room, great bed, and "chic" furnishings and accessories.

Cora's Coffee Shop, right next door, makes it easy to get your morning caffeine fix and Cha Cha Chicken, a few steps away, great for an inexpensive lunch alternative.

And Rosa, at the front desk, is just a sweetheart!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivieramayalover4421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    181
    95
    32
    34
See reviews for
69
233
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed 1 night to be close to Santa Monica & quick access to the airport for an early morning flight . Parking is tight, but the location is fabulous... You can walk straight to the beach , SM pier, and 3rd St Promenade is not too far to walk . The hotel is clean but their is street noise at night so bring your earplugs. If you can handle the noise, then this location is great for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 1 which is next to the check in ... that is the only room I can vouch for. King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceWriterAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here with my wife on our honeymoon for 3 nights. We were planning to discover LA and we wanted to stay at a hotel near the beach. Your main options are Santa Monica and Venice Beach. Other places are not as attractive as these. We searched for many hotels. They were either very expensive or not cute enough for a honeymoon. Then we find this lovely hotel.

It is located near Santa Monica beach and 5 min walk to the Santa Monica Pier. The hotel is looking over the road so you don't expect any view from the rooms. The layout of the hotel is more like a motor hotel. Inner side is all green and lovely decorated. The rooms are big enough, comfortable with wooden furnitures. It seems there has been a renovation a couple of years ago but we can not say the materials are high quality. However, it does not look like a standard hotel room. You feel yourself at home somehow.

There is limited free guest parking space in front of the hotel for your car. Otherwise you should use paid parking lots on the street.

There was free wifi in the guest rooms which helped us a lot. There is not too much staff as much as we have seen, but the owner or the manager of the motel was kind. There is no breakfast service available.

As a result, we were very happy to stay at this hotel. You can definitely stay here if you are looking for a cute budget hotel in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantikiroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I loved this place!
Was planning to stay in sta Monica/Venice beach for 3 nights and we tried almost every hotel/motel we could find and they were all asking for $250+ per night (4 people). The Sea view was just the cutest place you could find. they were fully booked for the 3 days and only had 1 double room but they made the effort to squeeze us in and although we had to change rooms every day it was definitely worth it for £150/night 4 of us!

Staff super friendly (they were the ones changing our luggage from room to room - and we were 4 girls travelling for 2 weeks.....!) the rooms clean and tidy and all modern style - some even have a small balcony and the motel also has a roof top which is amazing for late afternoons.

Literally just a couple of minutes walking from sta monica beach and pier and 5/10 from the center where all the shops and restaurants are.

Just lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights.Had booked one night to many, and since we had to reach our plane we tried to get our money back for this night, but they were not very nice or helpful with that. The room were clean and the location is perfect if you want a short way to the pier and the shopping mall/street. The traffic from the nearby road is loud all night. In the rooms facing this road it hard to sleep.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

we only stayed one night the beds were hard as rocks. this place is expensive, but its a short walk to the beach and santa monica pier so yes you are paying for the location. It was clean, updated tv, small area enclosed outside yr arcadia doors, If the beds were comfortable this place would have great, I can put up with little stuff but beds are important.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawninphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had high hopes for this hotel after reading all of the reviews. It is in a fantastic location for everything in Santa Monica and a quick jaunt to LA/Beverly Hills. Also a short walk to the beach!
My complaint is in regards to the hotel rooms itself. It is a very modern looking hotel room comPared to the outside, but it is not very clean. The shower had some mildew on it and the walls of the bathroom had hair all on it, and it was neither my friends or mine. Also there was sand everywhere from the previous occupant. I almost went out and bought cleaning supplies of my own but I decided to suck it up. We were hardly ever in the room and it was a nice base camp. The television had 6 channels but the room had a fridge which are hard to come by for some reason in hotels! All in all great location but the room grossed me out a bit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Santa Monica
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: 1760 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing