We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit outside and enjoy the view.”
Review of Ma'Kai

Ma'Kai
Reserve with OpenTable
Ma'Kai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #322 of 689 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Ocean Ave.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sit outside and enjoy the view.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Happened upon this place our first day in Santa Monica. We were seated immediately for a late lunch. We chose a table on the outside patio which still provided a little shade and lots of people watching. Food was excellent! The California Roll was the best I've ever had. Order of the lunch menu and save while still getting large portions. It's a must visit place that looks like it really is fun at night while being casually fun during the day. Excellent service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MullerFamily826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    50
    34
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great during happy hour”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had a delicious $6 white wine sangria here while my partner enjoyed some tasty craft beers. I would also recommend the sliders. Our waitress was friendly and helpful as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeeCee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect pitstop”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Happened upon this place during happy hour and couldn't resist a sneaky cocktail or two (bargain at $6 each). Had some bar snacks too, calamari and fries also priced low for happy hour. Bar staff was very friendly and helpful even substituted house wine for something different for me (not a fan of Merlot!). Great trendy yet laid back atmosphere and I can imagine can be quite lively late into the night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nhfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Deal”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Three of us had their $10 lunch special while in SM on vacation. Very good. Enjoyed sitting on the patio street side with a water view.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Average Santa Monica bar/restaurant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Came here to celebrate a friend's engagement on Sunday night before Memorial Day. We only managed to stay for a few drinks since the environment was not conducive to catching up. Our group was seated outdoors and we ordered sliders, creme brulee, champagne and various mixed drinks. Really liked my Gala Apple. This place seemed like a bit of a meat market. Guys hitting on girls, incredibly loud music that you couldn't hear the person across from you, but honestly, if I were in the dancing mood, I would have loved the DJ. The music was awesome, just wasn't what we were looking for that night. We weren't thrilled w/ our waitress either. She was disinterested/borderline rude. My group wrapped things up quickly and headed for The Yard which was a much quieter bar.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank keyser_soosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma'Kai also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Ma'Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing