We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rest Haven Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Monica Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Park Inn(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pavilions Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
14
7
8
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
7
8
9
12
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 50 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was visiting Santa Monica to see some friends over Christmas. I usually stay with them but this time they had relatives in so i chose a budget accommodation because i m between jobs. I was a bit worried with some reviews i saw about linoleum floors etc but i didn't have much choice! Well i m happy to say that i was pleasantly surprised. I mean it s a simple motel but my room was clean, with nice tiled floors throughout ( i hate carpets!). It looked well kept and clean ( i m a bit ocd when it comes to clean). The style of the motel is unusual for California, it reminds me the white houses on the greek islands...

Some of the guests were from Norway visiting, we had some great conversations and made some new friends.
Overall I had a great time in Santa Monica and i would definitely use Palm Motel again if necessary!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Te069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have travelled a lot around the world and Palm Motel in Santa Monica is my favourite motel ever! I have stayed in this charming motel several times over the last four years, I always go back to this place every time I am in Santa Monica.
It is a charming motel in a beautiful setting with fresh flowers in the garden, excellent service and clean big and spacious rooms at a perfect location, close to beach and Santa Monica shopping. I have stayed at Palm Motel both with friends and alone, the place is suitable for both families, groups and single travellers and the staff and owner are always very helpful, I always feel 'at home' and safe there.
I recommend this motel highly!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swe_Around_TheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is a great deal, comfortable and clean. From the beginning it was an extremely positive experience, from the rooms to the gentleman who owns the place the motel was warm and inviting. I highly recommend it, anyone that says otherwise is crazy!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wcrear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place, while somewhat charming on the outside, painted in bright blue, bright red and white with funky painted five-gallon cans filled with shrubs and stuff, IS A DUMP!! Our room had a bed (ok but not great), a bed-side table that was falling apart, a chest with the fronts of all the drawers falling off. Nothing else; not even a chair. The bath room was tiny and had no place to put anything. The floor was linoleum. The door to the room had only a cheap door knob lock that didn't work and no security device or lock. IT IS THE PITS!! Stay here only if it is the only available hotel within 100 miles.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Wow, where do I start? This place has it all... If you are coming to Santa Monica and you want to experience a Venice Beach Boardwalk meets Beverly Hills skid row like vibe here in Santa Monica then this quaint little motel is the ticket; Behold the power of Cuckoo! Quite a collection of people seem to be dwelling here permanently - from some mentally ill aging wannabe pornstar who gloats about lawsuits and warns you of hazards and then tries to convince you to engage in a lawsuit against the motel owner all while standing outside in a robe with this unwavering animal urine stench that she attempted to mask with cheap perfume poorly - to some clearly delusional socialpathic people and lots of pets, drunks and addicts. It is hard to know these people are the ones sleeping nearby... Rooms become permeated with a strong unpleasant odor due to the dozens of animals onsite and lack of personal hygiene thanks some of the occupants. Mentally ill and the absurd mixed with the smell of a urban zoo flooded with cats and bird poop. What a place!

Room Tip: Try to find one somewhere well lit and closest to the exit so you don't have to smell the funk.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank WorldTraveller34088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews