We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a DUMP!”
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed September 23, 2009

WORST HOTEL EVER!! I don't know how anyone couldv'e rated this positively!!

Of course you can't tell much from pictures, but I should've known better when the prices of other nearby hotels was double.

We showed up on Friday night about 8pm, just as the manager was leaving for the evening. She gave us our room key and left the premises. Little did we know that nobody returns to the hotel until the next morning at 9:30am!!

Anyway...the rooms are small; the beds are terrible with lumps and broken springs, etc. The bathroom was out of the 1950s/1960s and not refurbished, they didn't provide enough towels. The bad just kept getting worse.

We hit the pier, which is in walking distance, and came back to our room at about 12:30am. Little did we know we would be awakened several times during the night by a broken fire alarm in our room!! OMG there were no batteries, there was just bad wiring and the machine itself had actually been attached by velcro to the wall. There was NOTHING we could do except hit the button and wait for it to go off yet again. This thing went off about every two hours without fail.

I was super tired and really pissed off when I went down to check out...only to see nobody had arrived yet. They claim that you can check out by "leaving your key in your room"; however, the door wouldn't shut without putting the key in first...so how can you do that??? We waited until about 9:45am before someone showed in the office and when I told her about what had happened all night long all she said was "thanks for letting us know". I mean really, no reduced rate for the problem, no let us comp your room for the night because of the issues...nothing but really poor service, poor rooms and bedding...not to mention the stupid fire alarm and not sleeping.

Now, this room cost us $250 for the night!! It was a two bedroom suite with three beds to accommodate our 5 people. What a joke!!

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY HERE!!!! :(

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanLodgeSM, Marisela Herrera, Manager at Ocean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2009

Dear Reviewer

All reviews, good & bad are welcome and assist us in better serving our guests.
Management & Security are reachable 24/7 via speed dial in room phones as well as from lobby phone after normal office hours of 9:30am- Midnight.
All of our rooms are non-smoking and are all equipped with hard wired smoke detectors which are very sensitive. They are checked on a regular basis by the Santa Monica Fire Department & certified to be in good working order.
All rooms Feature high quality bedding. Our bathrooms all have updated fixtures, some with Marble counters; while keeping with our original retro theme of the 50's & 60's.
All staff members are professionally trained and are customer service oriented, but cannot take management decision. We thank you for your review and appreciate all of your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and I have to day that the location says it all! Walk across the road and you're at the Santa Monica Pier - walk about 2 blocks across, 3 up and you're at the 3rd Street Promenade and its only 1-2 blocks away from both the Big Blue Bus and Metro Bus stops for those of you coming to/from Downtown LA without a car.

So, it doesn't look like the classiest joint from the outside and the decor in the rooms isn't the most modern. But this place is fantastic. The rooms are clean (look like they've just had some renovations, fresh paint, maybe even some new furniture). Good sized tv, air con, ceiling fans and finally free wireless that actually works!!! My only gripe would be that the shower could do with some refreshing, tiles and grout are stained and a little bit of mould but you can tell that they are cleaned daily and plenty of towels to go around.

There is a bar/restaurant next door that is reasonably priced, but also easy walking distance to lots of restaurants towards the 3rd street promenade.

I had read that around the Pier can be a little unsafe after dark, I can say that I never felt unsafe and actually enjoyed going down to the Pier after dark. It was still bustling at about 10.30pm when we went, although that was a Saturday night so might be quieter during the week.

If you're on a bit of a budget but want to see the best of Santa Monica, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Princessfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We had an awesome stay...more than what we were hoping. We were given a suite...roomy...neat...The manager was so nice, helpful and accomodating and the housekeeping did a great job keeping our room nice and clean during our entire stay .The smile on their faces...the politeness...makes you feel at home...there's more....you could just walk to go places you want to see ...The Pier...3rd St. Promenade...Bars...Club....definitely the place you should stay when you are in the area...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutierheinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

The hotel was very clean. Looks like it was built in the 40's. They advertise AM coffee and internet, but the lobby doesn't open up until 9:30 or 10 AM. Lobby is 5 ft. by 7ft. with a outdated computer. If you want to get on line, youll have to wait your turn, sometimes you have to wait up to 2 hours. It is a great location, but very noisy. Bring earplugs. Parking is terrible.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malizia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

The location is excellent, the value is the best in the area BUT:
1) Bring ear plugs, the building is on busy Ocean ave. There are no other buildings on either side to block any of the street noise. The noise isn't terrible but it's omnipresent. I slept soundly with the foam earplugs I always carry.
2) Parking sucks. The spaces are very small. Hard to get in and out. Not the place for an SUV.
Overall would recommend the Ocean Lodge. You don't stay in Santa Monica to spend the time in your room. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HH_travelerSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

This hotel was perfect. The staff are so friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, the location was amazing and the price was fabulous!
My friend and I stayed here in the first week of January. I had been to Santa Monica before in 2008 with family and knew that this hotel would meet the needs of a friend holiday.
The parking isn't a problem as some other reviews have commented, they had plenty of spaces and you can park in the car park of Chez Jay also.
5 minutes walk, you're at 3rd Street Promenade which is good for shopping. We hired a car and found Santa Monica an excellent base for all the sights of Hollywood, Beverly Hills and beyond.
I would definately stay here again AND recommend it to any friends and family.
Thank you to the Ocean Lodge for such a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sc0tlandJenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We just got back from Santa Monica...we had a great time....weather was perfect...we stayed at the Ocean Lodge...If you are wanting an affordable place to lay your body down at the end of a busy day, this is a great place....nothing fancy....no frills....but the girl that runs the office during the day is the nicest person ever.....we rode the RAPID # 3 bus back to the airport and it was great and easy to do....only .75 cents vs. taxi fare. takes about an hour. Unfortunately we didn't know about the Rapid getting to the hotel but the reg. #3 was a funny ride....met some interesting people....we were there 5 days and it was a great trip. Just remember to bring a jacket for the night time....it does get a little breezy....

1  Thank scrapbooker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
562 reviews
Santa Monica
Sea Blue Hotel
Sea Blue Hotel
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,158 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
998 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
648 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Address: 1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3211
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $184 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is located in the heart of Santa Monica, just steps away from the Santa Monica Beach, World famous Santa Monica Pier and the popular 3rd Street Promenade. Just the perfect location, courteous service, great rooms and modest pricing makes us "The Travelers Best Choice" We may be small in size but we are Big on service. Customer satisfaction is our commitment and guarantee to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing