We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location , Location”
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location, Location , Location”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

No its not the Ritz, but this motel is clean, comfortable and in the best location you could ask for in Santa Monica. Literally 2 minute walk to the pier, 5 mins from Santa Monica Boulevard.

A group of us stayed in a 3 bed family room which was perfect for one night.

Loved Santa Monica and loved this hotel. Book it you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jelly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    39
    18
    12
See reviews for
51
46
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a family of 5 and the room was perfect - separate room for the adults and room with TV and beds for 3 kids. The parking was extra, but it was so nice to just WALK to everything we wanted to do near the Pier. We stayed two nights and it was just perfect for us. The staff was very helpful. It was very clean except when we came home after swimming in our clothes... and then rolling in the sand... :) Tons of fun! There's lots of noise, but you're on a busy street so that comes with the territory. We just adjusted and it became sleeping 'white noise'. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildRicePatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I Stayed at the Ocean Lodge for 2 nights. It was a perfectly functional motel. The room was reasonably sized, everything including the bathroom was spotless and there was free wifi with reasonable speed.
The staff were lovely, quite helpful with organizing taxis etc.
This is not somewhere you go to hang out ; but it is an inexpensive place to sleep, shower and be close to pretty much anything in Santa Monica, with the reassurance of good quality clean rooms and a comfortable bed. The only negative were people smoking on the communal balcony but the rooms didn't smell of smoke at all
Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just recently stayed at the Ocean Lodge Hotel for Spring Break. Overall it was just okay. We stayed in the Deluxe Junior Suite With Three Beds. While pretty small, it fit all of us. Storage is a huge problem. There is one dresser with 3 small drawers. Not enough for five people for a week long stay. There is a closet, but it only has 5 hangers... We made due. There is one towel rack. Again, for 5 people, not the best situation. We had wet towels hanging all over the room....again, we made due. Our main problem was the sleep. Do not stay here if you plan on having a good nights sleep. The walls are SO thin. You can hear EVERYTHING!!! Unfortunately, our kids got a good education while listening to the people next to us having very loud sex. Location is good. Housekeeping is questionable. Black hair ball in our shower when we first checked in. Not a fancy place if that is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: 3rd floor maybe???? Less noise???
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have just spent 7 days at the Ocean Lodge and it was everything I needed for my stay. That is to say, a clean room, comfortable bed and easy reach of all that West LA has to offer on your doorstep. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels in Santa Monica and, whilst they are pretty cool, I rarely use the facilities available (including their bars and restaurants) and I tend not to spend much time in my room. Ocean Lodge is reasonably priced by Santa Monica standards and is in a fantastic location adjacent to the pier. All the attractions of Santa Monica are an easy walk and, if you don't mind a longer walk, so is Venice Beach. Taxis and buses are easily available to take you elsewhere in the city if you don't want to use a car. The atmospheric and well known Chez Jay bar/ restaurant is a must visit next door. It would be great to have a coffee machine in the room as the reception desk doesn't seem to open until 9.30 or 10am. The building work next door didn't start to early and didn't bother me and neither did the traffic. All in all a great little 50's motel that has been updated for 21st century customers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I am giving this motel four stars not because it is a four star hotel, because it plainly is not, but because of the price and location. It is a very plain and simple road-side type motel, but it is about one block from the beach, and one block from the Santa Monica pier, on Ocean Avenue. It is right in the center of things for Santa Monica, but the price is not much more than a motel at an interstate exit. I found it clean, and my brief interaction with the front desk was very pleasant. The office opens rather late, and is closed in the late evening (my keys were waiting for me when I arrived late at night). I have one very minor complaint - no cream for the in room coffee until the last day, and one more significant - the free in-room internet was so slow as to be almost useless.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from Ocean Boulevard, which can be noisy when people rev the engines on their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VermontDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed for a second time at the Ocean lodge and my stay was as nice as the first time. Very nice location, onsite parking and a very nice restaurant within 50 ft of the hotel. The staff was professional and helpful when I needed directions to a business meeting. My next visit from Seattle will include a stop of the Ocean Lodge.

Room Tip: Really close to the Santa Monica Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fmcpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
529 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,093 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,241 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#26 of 36 in Santa Monica
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Property: Ocean Lodge Hotel
Address: 1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3211
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is located in the heart of Santa Monica, just steps away from the Santa Monica Beach, World famous Santa Monica Pier and the popular 3rd Street Promenade. Just the perfect location, courteous service, great rooms and modest pricing makes us "The Travelers Best Choice" We may be small in size but we are Big on service. Customer satisfaction is our commitment and guarantee to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing