We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Santa Monica
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location, very good rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Santa Monica is a great place to stay in Los Angeles.Ocean lodge is located just few steps from the beach, right across the famous Santa Monica Pier, 5 minute walk from a nice promenade with shops and restaurants.The lodge has very nice, clean rooms.It's not the cheapest place to stay in LA but it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mispule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
40
39
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I made the reservation the person on the phone did tell me about the construction going on next door but it stopped at 5PM and started at 7AM and that was not a problem for me. But what she did not tell me was that the street noise is a problem all night long. I wore earplugs but still could hear the loud traffic passing the hotel all night. In addition, there are bright lights outside and no blackout curtains so it is like daylight in the room all night. Lastly, the air conditioning stopped working in the night (it is cool outside but very warm inside...too warm for comfortable sleeping) and I could not get it started again so I opened the bathroom window to get some air in and that worked but only increased the street noise and light in the room.
As the other reviewers noted, this is otherwise just a basic low-end accommodation with a higher than usual price tag for the conditions.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJ-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a really lousy hotel. In the middle of a construction site, gravel crowded parking lot shared with a noisy restaurant, dumpy, damp, shabby rooms. Street and neighbor noise all night long. They'd get $65 a night sao webers else, maybe; instead, they charged us $169 plus a parking fee! Bad water pressure too and no one home when we needed towels 15 minutes after checking in. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwithkids046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Since it's not hard to find $350 hotels in Santa Monica, Ocean Lodge should be viewed in its proper context, financially speaking. It seems overpriced yet is lower than pretty much anything else. Perhaps less forgivable than the low-$100something room rates is the $20 parking fee.

I don't mind low-end accommodations. I'm not counting the threads on the sheets. But I would have liked better water pressure.

The main caveat is the ongoing construction. This makes accessing the place difficult and can lead to noisy mornings.

The office people and housekeepers were very helpful and friendly.

If your last trip was to a hostel you'll be fine here, and the location is excellent, but don't even expect Best Western-levels of glamour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseyguy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here in feb 2013, we arrived a little late at 9 pm and there was nobody available in the front desk; the whole office was closed and an envelope was kept with our name on it which had keys and instructions.

When booking this hotel, be sure to consider 20$ per night parking fees ( which we thought was outrageous)

The room itself was no fuss, ok types. It was decent but don't expect any luxuries. The room did not have a microwave. When we entered the room, the first thought came to my mind "Wow that is a lot of money for this room" so all the money you are paying is only for location ( it is upwards of 120$)

But make no mistake, the location of this hotel is absolutely ideal for santa monica beach. Just cross the road and you arrive on the beach.

Note: No breakfast here...

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs otherwise a lot of noise from the nearby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxedVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel four times over the past 7 years, with my most recent stay having been in late 2011. (I would have sworn that I had left a review for this hotel in Dec. 2011 on TripAdvisor, but, if so, all traces of it have completely disappeared from the site. ...!). I like this hotel, as may be obvious from the fact that I have chosen, each tie that I have visited Santa Monica, to stay here; each stay was for about 10 days.

While this is definitely not a fancy downtown hotel (and, if you want that, then stay at a fancy downtown hotel. ...!), nor a sleek fancy modern resort-type hotel, this hotel, in my mind, does a very good job of being a simple, basic, no-frills (well, few frills) good hotel. Best, the rooms (at least the 2nd floor rooms, where I always choose to stay) are bright, sunny and airy!

I made all four of my reservations well in advance of my trip via the hotel's webiste, and, in each case, they fully honored the rather low nightly rate that had been quoted on the website at the time tha tI had made my reservation. I have always found the rooms to be clean and spacious, and totally functional the view to be interesting, and during each of my stays, they always had parking space for my rental car.

Incidentally, I tend to be sensitive to cigarette smoke, and also sensitive to the odors of cleaning chemicals, deodorizing sprays and also to mold or musty odors, and I can happily report that in all of my four stays at this hotel, I have NEVER detected any of these offensive smells (which are quite common in many hotels across the USA) in ANY of the rooms in which I have stayed at this hotel.

I have always found the WiFi to be totally workable in all of the rooms in which I have stayed, although it sometimes gets a bit slow when the hotel is very full and some of the guests start hogging bandwidth with massive downloads, but nonetheless, the WiFi is always workable and adequate.

During my stays here across the years, I have had several friends who have visited me at times while I was staying years at the hotel, and they were all impressed with the hotel; none of them had any criticisms of the hotel, and they all commented favorably about it.

As one final note, which is almost superflous because you likely know this already, the LOCATION is great -- it is but a short walk to the beach and the boardwalk and bike path, and a short walk ot Venice, and a very short walk to the shop/business/restaurant districts in both the southern end of Santa Monica (below the hotel and inland a bit) and the northern end of Santa Monica (to the north of the hotel and inland a bit).

In closing, I will simply say that if and when I need to return to Santa Monica for my next trip, this is the hotel that I will choose for my stay, without hesitation!

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer rooms on the second floor, rather then the ground floor, but there are pluses a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
Level Contributor
222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stay here in June 2012 and it was great. To the beach and the Santa Monica Pier 5 min walking. The rooms are verry clean and the beds are good. The price for this location is ok, verry important, parking is free.From the Hotel to the Santa Monica Mall 5 min. to go.We love this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans111Bochum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 35 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 35 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#7 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Santa Monica
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#26 of 35 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Property: Ocean Lodge Hotel
Address: 1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3211
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is located in the heart of Santa Monica, just steps away from the Santa Monica Beach, World famous Santa Monica Pier and the popular 3rd Street Promenade. Just the perfect location, courteous service, great rooms and modest pricing makes us "The Travelers Best Choice" We may be small in size but we are Big on service. Customer satisfaction is our commitment and guarantee to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing