We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveler rating
239
316
91
33
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
239
316
91
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm hi hostel common areas great location venice beach street promenade air conditioning two blocks would stay again bars and restaurants yogurt los angeles wi fi enjoyed my stay hostels computers lax
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 703 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2019

This is a lovely place to stay in a superb location. Prices of hotels in LA are so high that even booking a room in that hostel just for yourself is an amazing option. Hotel surroundings are lovely and very spacious. They also provide entertainment and laundry facilities. Reception was a bit slow to my liking - asking for a luggage tag took forever and they could improve air conditioning in rooms as the air was a bit musty but other than that it was a good stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yosemiti19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

Solo traveller - Id stayed in a room of 6, but there was only me and another girl in there at the time. The room was clean, the bathroom and showers were just down the hall and were beautifully modern and clean. Felt very safe and modern. The single only downside was there's no lift, so I had to carry my case to the top floor which was an absolute workout, to say the least! The common areas are beautiful and inclusive, the included breakfast is fab. The staff are wonderfully welcoming, including the dog! The hotel itself couldn't be situated more perfectly between Third Street Promenade where there are lots of restaurants, and shops, including a large mall, Farmer's market on certain days and a 2-minute walk to the beach! Anyone wanting to try out the Cali Beach side of LA this is where you want to stay!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeLRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

The location is just perfect, close to everything Santa Monica has to offer. Although th staff wasnt that friendly, we had some issues with our room, the offered a free upgrade which whas grat, but we had to check in and check out twice, wich was pretty anoying, and the staff wasnt very helpfull. Breakfast was just great.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank AldiArambarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

I like staying in hostels when traveling alone. It is cheaper, you can use the kitchen, there is a basic breakfast and you might meet people. The Santa Monica Hostel has a TV room with very comfortable lounge chairs, a community room with fireplace, an internet room with a couple of computers hooked up to printers. Two blocks from the Santa Monica pier and close to the metro, the location is ideal for an LA visit, a stroll on the beach, many seafood restaurants...

Room tip: I prefer semi private room with en suite toilet.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fearlessmsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

One night visit in Santa Monica was very good to stay in this hotel. Cheap and clean. Good breakfast, juice, toast, cereal, coffee, etc. I loved
The dorm is okay, exactly what I was expecting for a hostel. I only suggest to change the paper towel for something with less noise. Sugiro trocar o porta papel toalhas para algo menos barulhento. Impossível dormir com esse barulho

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank simarx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews