We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I had a excellent experience in this hostel, especially because was my first time in an hostel and I was very afraid about the security, cleanliness and quality in general. But I really liked the safety individual lockers in the rooms, the clean sheets, the individual light, the big kitchen and the activities promoted by hostel was very interested. I just didn't like too much the bathrooms, where there are only 4 showers for all floor and only one was very nice. The others had reasonable quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayanesapori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 649 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Couldnt afford my own room as I was a solo traveler this trip, so decided to go for a hostel. Booked online and was very easy to do. got welcomed by friendly helpful staff, who were easily approachable and a wealth of local knowledge. I did a tour with this hostel, and went out to Malibu, which was really cheap and a good way to see that area. Room was basic bunk/ dorm type set up, but was clean, and my roomies were all quiet and considerate, enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The stay at the hostel was the very first part of my journey through the Western U.S. It proved ideal to get some rest after the long flight. I have been to quite a few youth hostels in my life and must say, there are quite a few better places, but a lot more which were less pleasant and enjoyable. Everything is clean, staff is very helpful and knowledgeable, breakfast is OK. The kitchen might be a little cleaner, that was the only minus point.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

First hostel of my life, I had the best time ever. Staff is really nice, they organize a lot of activities.
100% clean, BBQ night amazing.
It was the first experience in a hostel and after that I always go to HI around the States and even abroad.
The location is excellent, near the ocean and the shopping center!
Bathrooms were big and clean, same for rooms. free wifi and breakfast!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yleniuccia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hostel itself is an excellent place to stay, the best location almost on the beach, just one block away, i would recommend the staff to be more proactive and cleaners and breakfast staff to be more smiley and friendly and more interactive as well, it would help to break up the low mood among the people in the hostel and definitely it would help with getting to know the other visitors in the hostel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Amazing location just one block back from the Santa Monica Pier. This area is pricey so you will find it hard to find a hotel in the same location for the same price...

Although this is a hostel, we opted for a private room for just one night and it did the trick. Really modern and clean for a hostel, free wifi and free burgers in the evening..enough said.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnybunny7381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good amenities, good room and good location. Cloee to third street promenade and santa monica pier. Best place to stay in L.A. avoid staying in hollywood and downtown LA but they are worth the visit. Free breakfast is a plus and wifi is fairoy decent, overall a good place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awells840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,908 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
615 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,352 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range: $43 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing