We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinguished Setting for the Youth Traveller in Mind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a very contemporary hostel with much space for hanging out in various areas of the hostel. That is the courtyard, the library, TV areas are a few. I stayed in a dorm with 10 beds. It was very spacious. The beds already come made which is a nice treat for a hostel. Staff could be much more enthusiastic and helpful. I found that this was missing here compared to other HI Hostels I have been to. It's in a great location in terms of city buses. There's a bus down the street that will take you to the union train station. Also if you want to go to Malibu or Pacific Palisades you can take the orange line on Ocean. Just a few doors down you can get healthy inexpensive smoothies and juices that are fresh. Also, Wholefoods is in the neighbourhood. If you don't have a computer you can go to the library on 6th and use one on their internet terminals. I though that breakfast could be improved by providing fresh fruit instead of canned and having more wholesome bread.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 658 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

One block from the beach, two blocks from a very good upscale shopping street, one block from an excellent British pub (and a lot more), great amenities, thoroughly modern, totally recommend.
Very comfortable stay. Easy to hop bus right outside to get around, then use the metro. Silly low price in early February for such an excellent place, and location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caerdarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Wow! What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. I'm sure travelers looking for accomodations will find it very informative. I'm hoping that people reading this will come check us out in person!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in January 2013 for 4 nights. We arrived after a long flight, and check in was thankfully quick and easy, and the staff friendly. Our room was a private double on the 4th floor. The room was fairly small, but had a flatscreen TV with cable (ESPN etc) which was a great touch. The only complaint I had with the room was the noisy extractor fan right outside the window, but with earplugs this wasn't an issue! The bathrooms were good and clean, with a large number of showers. The location of the hostel is perfect, one block from the beach and pier, and 5 mins to the shopping area. There is a good pub on the corner (out of the hostel and turn left) which had a good happy hour for those travelling on a budget. Great place to stay in Santa Monica, breakfast is free and plentiful, and you can borrow basketballs and volleyballs as needed. Wifi was too slow for facetime / skype but fine for email etc. We had a rental car, which we parked in the shopping centre opposite for $14/day.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great location - if you're hanging out in the Santa Monica area without a car. Since I drove down for a conference in Newport Beach, I had to pay the $14 a night parking at the nearby shopping mall garage. (There is metered street parking across from the hostel, but overnight street parking is not allowed.) I would have preferred a hostel closer to my conference, but the other Los Angeles-area hostels aren't open in the winter months. I considered a closer, non-HI hostel, but the only room available was mixed-gender catering to surfers; as a solo, female, business traveler it didn't seem practical - especially once I uncovered my HI 'stay-one-night-free' coupon.

The upper bunk needed a shelf and bedside lighting would have been nice. The mattress was lumpy and the single blanket wasn't up to the late January cold-snap. The HVAC was pretty noisy; the overhead light was worse (I reported the light to the front desk - probably just needs a new ballast). There was hot water in the en-suite shower - but it took quite a while to get to temperature.

As noted by other reviewers, the kitchen and dining areas were reasonably clean and spacious - though during the peak summer season I expect that space is at a premium. The lounge area was okay for getting work done - but the pseudo office space in the HI hostel in NYC was much better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peni_Soo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. You will be pleased to know that we now have a shelf, bedlight and charging station at each bed in our dorms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

HI is a well known friend of mine, but this specific hostel in santa Monica is pure awesomeness. The common area is very cozy, the kitchen is big, they have like game nights or other kind of stuff if you don't feel like going out and, in case you do feel like it, they're close to some really nice pubs and sports bars. If you don't know were to go, ask the staff. They're very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Here the staff will do what they can do to help you. The dorms are all very tidy, and get cleaned every day, and you get given a clean towel daily if needed also. Beds are made for you! so when you arrive tired from traveling you can hope straight in and catch up on sleep. All the facilities are fabulous and clean. The only negative I have is about the guy who took the Friday night pub crawl - he was rather sleazy, only really talked to (single)girls. Once he found out that I had a boyfriend, he no longer talked to me, or made any effort to make sure all was going. He came across as very unorganized, The first bar we went to were full, so we had to change venues. Other than the one staff member all was well, and would come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathAnne44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice, big but still clean and friendly hostel in the trendy neighbourhood of Santa Monica.

Location's great - there's a travel agency next door where you can book cheap tours to visit Hollywood etc, You can walk or bus to Malibu and Venice Beach or hang out on Santa Monica's beach, pier and trendy shopping streets.

You get a large locker, comfy bunk bed, swipe card access to your room. Each room has a sink.

There are lots of rooms to hang out in - an Internet/reading room, TV room with comfy couches, lobby areas, large sink and room and kitchen.

Breakfast is included and consists of toast, juice, cornflakes, tinned peaches and yogurt.

There are lots of events like pub crawls, group excursions on offer. It was easy to meet people and hang out, I had a great time here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
637 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
644 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 107 in Los Angeles
1,096 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Santa Monica
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range: $44 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing