We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay!”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Here are my thoughts on our stay in HI Santa Monica:

Pro's:

Breakfast (all you can eat)
Clean
Friendly Staff
Towels are a great size
Beds are comfortable
Hostel puts on dinners some nights and are really cheap
Free wireless (although only available some places)
Quiet Room
TV room
Computer Room (extra charge)

Con's:
When you book online they don't charge the tax until you arrive there (unlike other HI's)
Water is not always warm in the showers or if it is doesnt last long!

*Location can be put in both here.....safety wise it is in a great position and away from the main part of LA....but on the other hand it takes almost 1 hour on the bus to get to LA itself...but I'd rather sit on a bus for an hour and be safe!!!

There are other things people complain about in hostels (sleep quality, size of rooms) but for the price I really cant fault it at all!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosh1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review....I'm sure travelers will appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    285
    86
    30
    22
See reviews for
20
45
331
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Nothing too awesome, but nothing bad either. Basic hostel, which was clean and tidy. Would stay again definitely. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstTimeUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I as travelling alone this hostel wasnt the best place to mix with other travellers. Even though I had a couple of items stolen in my room, silly things like clothes, the hostel itself is very secure from the outside. The room had it's own lockers, toilet and shower and also communal showers in the hall. I went on a down town tour of LA with a member of staff from the hostel. He was very informative but the tour itself as alittle boring, it was free and I guess he did take us places I would have not of seen if it wasn't for him.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower bunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Location is great.
If u wanna stay in La, Santa Monica is the place.
Hotel very clean, lovely decoration.

the stuff helpful, cheap 50 usd at night.
The only bad thing is that they didnt accept American express, so i have to pay in cash.

This hotel was very quite and calmed, not the typical backpackers hostel, but is classy wich i loved.

besos!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soledelosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Apart from the hostel location in Santa Monica I cannot really rave about this one.

Bad Points:

There was a few of us checking in at once and the narrow 'line' with by the check in desk made it difficult to pass someone to get to the next member of staff.
A friend of mine was checked into a male dorm (she's female!)
The internet was very expensive - go to the library!
The man at who set out the breakfast was rude
I'm got bitten by bed bugs
The showers weren't cleaned very well - hair all around the plug hole.
Very expensive - $45 for one night!!

Good Points:
Location

Room Tip: Ask for one nearer the elevator if you will be back and forth a lot. I was on the top floor right at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mylifetolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We took a private room which was about USD 140. You get a extremely small room with the smallest twin bed ever. No own bathroom which was an unpleasant surprise. Sheets were dirty. Wifi only works on the ground floor. We should have taken a motel for that money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuudfromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
I read your comment about wishing you would have taken a motel room for the money and looked up what you would have come up with if you would research motels in Santa Monica on tripadvisor. You would have been 8 blocks from the beach/ocean (we're 2 blocks), you would have been on a very busy ugly street (we're one block from the promenade and 1/2 block from the Santa Monica mall). A hotel one or two blocks from the ocean would have cost $200 - $500 a night.
Staying in a private room in the hostel, you do have to share a bathroom but you would have a free breakfast, a fully stocked kitchen that you could prepare your meals from and a chance to meet people from all over the world. It's hard to put value on anything but I think we are a great value for people wanting to explore one of the most beautiful areas in the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I'll say the bad points first:
The staff where very uninterested and very short, we had a mix up with our rooms and i felt like the staff where saying it was our fault when it clearly wasnt, there was one staff member in particular who was very rude when been asked questions, shame we didnt catch their name to complain.
Rooms where clean, but not of very nice decoration and the sheets seemed to be years old and did smell abit.
We didnt realise that we had to share with 2 randoms if we booked a 6bed with bathroom if there was only 4 of us, maybey this is just our nieveity of hostels?


Good points:
location was amazing as has been said many times on here, short walk to all local attractions! went out most of the time!
the discounts you get off the travel company next door are amazing

Thats all really, i mean the breakfast was alright, we didnt use the kitchen, i dont know if it was the fact we wherent expecting it to be so hostel like or if it was the hostel itself that was dissapointing. Would reccomend for travellers but not holiday makers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123pip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,850 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
645 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,106 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Property: Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing