We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great drinks, Great People, Great Sliders!”

The Craftsman Bar and Kitchen
Ranked #158 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Description: Welcome to our friendly beach side bar set in the living room of a 1920's Craftsman Style house. Our laid back little den is the perfect place to enjoy a tasty cocktail, listen to some live music or to try one of our famous burgers. Happy Hour Daily 4pm-8pm.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great drinks, Great People, Great Sliders!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

They have a great vibe and a great team at The Craftsman. The Sliders are outstanding and the different styles make it even better. There is something there for everyone. Love that place and miss it a lot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorenWeisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraftsman B, Public Relations Manager at The Craftsman Bar and Kitchen, responded to this review, April 30, 2015
Thanks for your review. We are very proud to have such an amazing staff. Glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great bar & live music for late evening”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Having eaten elsewhere, we were struggling to find somewhere with some atmosphere in central Santa Monica, many places were winding down after dinner service or looked like beer halls for drunks. This place had 2 great guitarists playing live music (still possible to hold a conversation though) and sofas / bar stools. Full range of beers and wines. Was there for a week on business, went back 3 times. We didn't find many places like this in the 3rd street area, but there are similar a little south in the Main Street area which has a more local vibe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraftsman B, Public Relations Manager at The Craftsman Bar and Kitchen, responded to this review, April 30, 2015
Thanks for your great review. Wow three times in one week. We are honored. We hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for drinks not food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went here for a small bite to eat after a very long day of travel and work. The vibe was cool. For larger groups the sofa's looked like a cool place to hang out. I did have to give the waitress my credit card before ordering, which I found weird, but understand. The server suggested the western slider, which was gross and very greasy. Ate less than half. The fried pickles were not that good, ate about half. The cocktail was delicious. Thankfully everything I ordered was on the happy hour menu, so I did not pay too much for half eaten food.

For me, this is a do not return location. However if you are going out with a larger group for drinks, I would recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great bar in Santa Monica”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were strolling around Santa Monica and decided to not eat much for dinner. When we came across this place, we were not dissapointed. Great atmosphere, good food, but maybe a little pricy. We had to give the waitress our credit card before we ordered, because they had had bad experiences with other customers, which was ok.
If we ever return to Santa Monica we would certainly stop by again for a drink. Unfortunately we missed out on the live music (we had been at the beach the whole day and were pretty tired).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R_Baumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craftsman Bar and Kitchen also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to The Craftsman Bar and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing