We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic beer selection”

The Library Alehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Library Alehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 681 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer selection”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Amazing beer selection, and great food to accompany. You wont find a better beer selection in Santa Monica.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    62
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, food is very sub-par”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I ate here twice with my family (2 small children) and again with a friend.
First, it isn't very kid friendly. My Hamburger was large, which is not a positive to me. The bun was white bread and lackluster. Sweet potato fries were okay.

Another family was seated after us and had their food before anyone even took our order. I had a beer that was still 1/4 full, turned around to help my child and the busboy poured my water in it and cleared the glasses.

I tried Library Alehouse again because I wanted to try different beers. This time without the family, but with a friend. The experience was slightly better. Service was more prompt. The music was so loud I had to yell at my friend during our conversation. I tried some other menu items. The carnitas taco was bland. Needed more cilantro and verde sauce. The sliders were supposed to be 3 different ones, but were all the same and not very good. I tried the french fries with cheese and gravy. These were awful. I couldn't choke them down.

If you want Good beer, go here. If you want good food, go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rader58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good local haunt”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The library alehouse is always a good place to go for a reliably good burger, salad and extensive selection of beers. Nice and light inside with a cute patio in back. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dweathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent beer selection and good grub.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were staying at the Bayside hotel in Santa Monica and following and intensive afternoon shopping in and around the Third Street Promenade area, we wanted something with more of a local feel after the barrage of international shops. There seems to be a thriving culture of ale-house type bars in SoCal at the minute and we found The Library Alehouse about a mile down Main Street. The ever-present sports could be found on screens but these were kept to the bar only, with plenty of tables to be had in and outside. The menu was good, with plenty of gastropub type meals and a excellent range of beers. The staff were happy to recommend drinks and food to suit our taste and neither disappointed. I had the house burger and my wife had the roast chicken with fries and gravy. The portions were great and the only disappointment was the amount of gravy drenched chips my wife left. Criminal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatGreenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
353 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Beer, Burger and Service”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

A great gift find. The burgers we had were delicious, the veggie burger was a real winner. Beer selection was excellent with 20 offerings on tap and lots of bottles. Beer cupcake for desert. Overall very impressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seanpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Library Alehouse also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to The Library Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing