We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste to Remember”
Review of Father's Office

Father's Office
Ranked #100 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Worldwide
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Taste to Remember”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I hate fighting for a table at the flagship on Montana, but once you're seated there's no doubt the F.O. burger and the unbeatable selection of beer make the pains a passing memory. Typically, I'd take exception to my need to customize my burger being taken away from me, but there's no doubt the F.O. burger is a concoction not to be trifled with. Dry-aged beef topped with caramelized onions, Maytag/Gruyère cheeses, applewood-smoked bacon compote and arugula served on a soft roll. It's a damn-near perfect gourmet burger.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    113
    42
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can I get a witness?”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Father's Office epitomizes Commodification meets Survival of the Fittest spawning erotomania at best, and harassment at worst.

Being that there is no table service...finding a table is TOP priority. Stalking is not optional.

Put your game face on and commence mission reconnaissance. The palpable power struggle between squatters and those who are waiting for a table, juxtaposed with the absence of structure and order is diabolical.

The inherent relationship between the quest to experience new restaurants and compile new favorites makes Father's Office the beginning of a hostile relationship.

The Office Burger is served between a hoagie roll with caramelized onion, applewood bacon, gruyere, Maytag blue cheese and arugula. As soon as the burger reaches your mouth, your olfactory nerves will be aroused as the aroma quickens your heart beat. The creator of this burger is passion realized.

Frites are shoestring fries served with garlic parsley aioli and the superior Sweet Potato Fries are paired with roasted garlic, cabrales blue cheese aioli.

Hawaiian Butterfish seared rare with caponata, "black" olive oil, and crispy carole nete. As soon as I gripped my teeth over the Butterfish, the violent rush of vitality coated my mouth and all was right in the world.

Organic Brussels Sprouts with pine nuts, sherry vinegar & topped with crispy Serrano are charred and pair well with the savory burger.

Salt Cod Brandade Fritters with piquillo gastrique, pimenton aioli and olive soil are inventive and tasty. The fritters are encased in a crispy exterior with a moist filling.

Fox Barrel Pear Cider from Colfax, California, is 100% natural, gluten free and served on tap. Perfectly delicious.

Be steadfast and optimistically vigilant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dachonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food ..... meh service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great burger, Great beer selection , Service was missing . It's small ( not a reflection of my review just a warning ) so seating can be tough . the food was good and the beer selection great ( not much else if that's not your thing) , but if i'm spending premium money on a burger , $$$ , then at least pretend like you appreciate it a little

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
“Don't go if you are in a wheelchair!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My friend, who is a LA native, wanted to eat here. Only problem: he is now in a wheelchair because of recently diagnosed brain cancer. We were completely ignored when I asked if one of the staff could help us just put together some seating (5 of us). The front person said: you find your own seating. No offer of any help. During our meal, my friend tried to wave down one of the waiters at least 4 times for help. We just needed an extra plate. We were completely ignored. Burgers are good but don't go if you have any disability. Staff could care less!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great beer place with good tapas and excellent quality food.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I don't drink beer and their selection of wines is quite limited (like an afterthought). Considering where they are located it would be nice to have a better wine list and better service at the bar. The time for surly bartenders in Santa Monica is past, and it is a shame that this location tries to impress with an attitude that does not become them. After all, this is a glorified beer hall. I still recommend the food, though, as their cheeseburger, salads, lamb and other dishes are impressively tasty. Someone in the kitchen cares enough to delight the customer and for that I am grateful. Try their newer location in Culver City and compare the service. The Father's Office used to be a place to hang out in Santa Monica but times are indeed changing; or maybe I am getting old and more demanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YMRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Father's Office also viewed

 

Been to Father's Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing