We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surly Service...Super Pricey...Super Burger!!!!”
Review of Father's Office

Father's Office
Ranked #108 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surly Service...Super Pricey...Super Burger!!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This dimly lit "pub-style" establishment features non-existent table service, an arrogant and surly wait staff and over-priced menu selections. Only an outstanding food product could overcome such general stupidity. Fortunately, for this establishment the food (specifically the burger)...really delivers!!! The burger taken alone is a thing of beauty. The restaurant allows absolutely no changes or substitutions to the burger. And, this is as it should be. Cooked perfectly (medium rare) and served on a terrific bun then married with fresh greens, caramelized onions, and blue cheese...this burger stands on its own. There is no need to drown this burger in ketchup, chili, mustard, relish or any other condiment generally used to disguise a truly bad burger. If you are prepared to pay dearly and deal with a rude wait staff head over quickly to Father's Office for what is one of if not the best burger on the West Coast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NachaLibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    114
    43
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
577 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Back to School”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went to the Fathers Office for burgers and it reminded me of my College days at Rutgers. It was a lot of fun albeit very crowded and noisy and a wait. But once my FSIL snagged us a table, and we settled in with a few beers, all was right. Great burgers (except Jersey Guys are not used to gryuere cheese and Arugula) but it was a switch. Great fries and they had Anchor Steam, one of my favorite beers.
Burgers were huge, only issue is you cant have it with Lettuce Tomato and a big kosher pickle ala Jimmy Buffet .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The benchmark burger”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We travelled to the USA back in 2012 for inspiration as we wanted to open our own restaurant in the UK. I still think about the Father's Office burger over a year later. The selection of draft beer is amazing too. Get there early as it does get very busy, and as a result it isn't one of the most relaxing of places to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockandbaconrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers and brews!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were in search of a place with a great beer selection. Father's Office did not disappoint! Besides great beer we had an awesome burger and a celebrity sighting. The place is small and you order at the bar but the staff was very friendly and willing to make beer suggestions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatordogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“A Blue Cheeseburger? Absolutely!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

After a full morning - we were craving a great burger and (our new best friend) the concierge sent us to Father’s Office- (and told us not to ask for ketchup –non existent) had the best blue cheese burger and excellent Belgian beer. Sweet Potato fries to die for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Father's Office also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Father's Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing