We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of, if not, the best burger in El A.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Father's Office

Father's Office
Ranked #84 of 672 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of, if not, the best burger in El A.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

You will be hard pressed to find a better burger in Los Angeles or any other part of the country. Their burger has to be one of the top burgers in the world. Real talk.

Great bear and wine selection and amazing sweet potato fries. I prefer the one in Santa Monica over the one in Culver City. It's smaller and more intimate. Also means you have to wait longer to find a table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    112
    40
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Famous place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I guess it is it's reputation as much as anything. Dinner was good I had a burger of course! Not sure I will go again unless I am with someone who wants to try it.

Helpful?
Thank Gogoglennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
275 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Eat, Drink, Enjoy - but do not photograph...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wife and I went on a Saturday afternoon. Arrived about 1:00-1:30. Was worried about not being there at opening. There were a handful of seats left - we scored our seats at the bar. Kept it simple each ordering the Office Burger ($12) medium-rare. Delicious. High quality. The carmelized onions were best we've had in quite some time. The french bread roll holds up quite well. The whole package was juicy and tasty. The burger can have fries added for $2.50 we opted out since we'd been dining progressively this day. A couple of people at the bar ordered lamb skewers - those dishes looked pretty good too. A nice handful selection of red wines by the glass on the menu and 30+ tap craft beers plus more in the bottle to chose from. The menu does a good job describing the brews and there are "feature" chalk boards over the bar. Fear not - you can taste before you commit to a full serving. Watch what others order to see what looks lighter, dark, darker too. Service was prompt, if not outwardly friendly. At one point, was told no photos were allowed to be taken (seriously?) - sorry already had done a few. That would not keep me from returning and enjoying what I might not be allowed to photograph.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kwtaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing burger & selection of craft beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had the traditional burger - it was very flavorful and just as described in the numerous articles about the food and commitment to a great burger. We sat at the bar and had a nice conversation with the bartender and what seemed to be regulars to Father's office. The craft beer selection was solid. When unsure of what you like, the bartender asked a series of questions to help them determine which one or 2 beers you might like.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FritziinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite bar in Santa Monica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I visited Santa Monica mainly just to eat and drink. We asked some locals about were to go and Father's Office was mentioned multiple times, so we decided to check it out. We are glad we did. We just stopped in for drinks before dinner, but thoroughly enjoyed it. The beer selection was the best we saw in Santa Monica and were excited to finally try Pliny the Elder, a beer we don't get in our state. It was crowded, but people were polite, and it never took long to get a drink. We easily grabbed a couple stools at the bar and enjoyed the hip ambiance of the bar. If we return to Santa Monica, we'll definitely spend more time at Father's Office.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Father's Office also viewed

 

Been to Father's Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing