We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest bar in Santa Monica”

Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe
Ranked #16 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Description: Welcome to Big Dean's Oceanfront Cafe, where the "locals" meet and the "fun loving" tourist always return! Voted one of L.A.'S 101 best bars, we are open every day and have all the sports games on Sundays on TV. Conveniently located on the beautiful Santa Monica Boardwalk, this is where nostalgia surrounds you while you relax, sip a beer or have a burger. In addition to fun in the sun on our outdoor patios, you'll find some great food, beer and wine at the world famous Big Dean's. Just ask any of our regulars- they'll tell you to try our World Famous Burgers like the Santa Monica Burger or Big Dean's Double Cheeseburger. We also have sandwiches, sausages and dogs, seafood, tacos and sides, as well as an extensive beer, wine and specialty beverage list, to satisfy guests of all ages! We invite you to check out our website to see what we offer, then bring your friends and family to join us at Big Dean's Oceanfront Cafe today! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendliest bar in Santa Monica”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

A chance find and without doubt now to be our daily afternoon haunt for the rest of our holiday ! Fabulous reasonably priced food , good range of choices , great atmosphere, filled with sunshine and friendly staff who managed to put up with two loud teenage girls! I would recommend this to anyone to just hang out and chill. Just ❤️it!!

Nicola, Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaJB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We can't tell you how wonderful it is to hear that you and your family had such a great time with us! Knowing you'll be stopping back every day for the rest of your holiday is the best compliment we could ask for, and we hope you continue to thoroughly enjoy yourselves.

See you soon,
Big Dean's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    119
    25
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cool California Vibe”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Big Deans is what most Brits would expect of a quintessential Californian bar. On the beach, great music, a sun kissed crowd and friendly, efficient staff - who am I to argue. I forgot to mention the simple, but tasty food and the great selection of beers. I will be taking my daughter there in October so that she can soak up that California vibe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
It's wonderful to hear you had the perfect California bar experience with us, Marc! Thank you for the compliments to our food and staff -- I'll be sure to pass your kind words along. We're delighted to hear that you'll be bringing your daughter back this year; we can't wait to welcome you both!

All the best,
Big Dean's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great View”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our group dined here after an evening on the pier. We were able to grab a table off the beach walk which allowed for a great sunset view with the pier as a backdrop. Hard to beat. Food was good. We had three juicy burgers and the clam chowder bread bowl which my wife really liked. Service was a little spotty. We would go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for the feedback, Matt! We're really glad to read that you were able to stop by and take in the sunset along with the burgers and the chowder. Thanks for letting us know about the service as well. Next time you're in the area, we hope we can do it again!

Best,
Big Dean's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice one! ”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Great food, the calamari was realy nice. The beer was cold and the weather was nice. Seriously, i was nice having a beer and a bite here! If we could, we would come here again!

Helpful?
Thank Janpan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for the review, Janpan19! It's great to read that you got to try our calamari -- it's a great pairing for a cold beer. If your travels bring you back to Santa Monica in the future, be sure to come back and say hello!

Best,
Big Dean's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good local joint”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Was looking for something not so "Santa Monica". Deans was a good local joint. Food was good, beer cold, and prices good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gtterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hey gtterb, thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your recent visit -- we'll be sure to pass your compliments along to our team here. If you find yourself in Santa Monica in the future, come back and see us!

Best,
Big Dean's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing