We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Malibu Discovery

Malibu Discovery
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We enjoyed our wine trip. While some of the wines were so-so at best, the guide was excellent and the trip a lot of fun. We recommend this tour for a nice day out, especially during the week when it would not be crowded at the wine stops.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 12 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 9 reviews
"paramount ranch"
in 3 reviews
"scenic drive"
in 3 reviews
"celebrity homes"
in 5 reviews
"great wine tour"
in 2 reviews
"wealth of information"
in 2 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"local history"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"wineries"
in 16 reviews
"ken"
in 26 reviews
"winery"
in 5 reviews
"california"
in 7 reviews
"movie"
in 6 reviews
"stories"
in 4 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2018

OK, didn't get off to a great start.
Phoned their office on the monday to book a movie / malibu tour for the wednesday.
"confirmation of tour and pricing by email on the way".
nope
Tuesday phone to the office.
"yup, you are confirmed, will resend the details"
nope
Wed arrives
Our guide, Tom, turns up early and confirms all the details, having rolled his eyes at the service from their office.
From then on, it was a fabulous tour.

Tom made it interesting and informative and a great way to spend a morning.

Anyone who is interested in movies knows that movie stars tend to live in Malibu and not Hollywood. So these tours of movie stars homes you take outside The Chinese theatre ( of COURSE that is the home of Tom Cruise / Cher/ Matt Damon / the Rock/ add name here) tend to be imaginative.
This tour takes you to the real homes!

Loved the trip to the Paramount Ranch where movies / tv series are shot

So have a great tour, and try and get confirmation first!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank glasgowbigyin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken F, Owner at Malibu Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Glad you had a good time on your tour - yes, we are not your typical Hollywood Tour! Malibu is a very special place and we love showing all the great areas, history, Hollywood connection, and yes, even some celebrity houses. And the scenery and viewing can't be beat!

Regarding your confirmation, your email receipt was sent to you - twice! We even confirmed the correct email address verbally the day before your tour and I did say not to worry, that you were confirmed and we again confirmed the pick up location. As you were traveling internationally, sometimes email servers are not 100% reliable, or timely. But we did confirm everything on the phone and we made sure Tom, our driver, was at the pick up location early to make sure everything went smooth - which it did.

We absolutely appreciate your feedback and are glad you had a great time. Your email is in the electronic abyss somewhere, but it all worked out as it always does! We haven't missed one tour in 9 years of operation and over 10,000 tours!!

Thanks so much,

Ken
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Ken the owner is simply amazing, I’d give 6-Stars if Ali could. The Celebrity Homes Malibu Tour is one of a Kind. Ken is so knowledgeable regarding the area...it’s so much more than just celebs, he’ll show you hidden secret locations in Malibu exclusive to his Tour company only. The Malibu was the ultimate highlight of my stay in California. See a different side of L.A. than just the standard tourist attractions that all the other tour companies show you. Book the Malibu Tour and you’ll be so happy you did. Only thing I wish that could have been different is that Tour didn’t have to end!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

People who run these tours are real professionals. I got to know Ken, the company owner, he is born and raised in LA and loves the history of California.

The wines tours are perfect to discover the most picturesque, remote gem locations of Malibu. Very few people who live in LA know about those places.
Great time, priceless experience!

Booking was easy, as was the pick up. Their service team is very well trained.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Anna_WeHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Great wine tour. Booking online was easy with full details including exact pick up time and location. Our driver, Rich, was punctual, courteous, and packed with fun facts and info about the Malibu area, celebrity homes, wineries, history, & even pointed out rare sightings of wild peacocks! We were each given a welcome goodies bag which included water and snacks- a nice touch. Went to three wineries savoring 3-4 local wines at each one. Our fare included a nice lunch at a local restaurant which was a perfect stop before finishing up our last wine tastings. We also paid for a meat and cheese platter at one of the wineries ( which was a generous plate). Overall a great time. Would highly recommend this company.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank J0celynpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malibu Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing