We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palihouse Santa Monica
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay! Lots of character lots of atmosphere.
On walking distance of city centre. Beds are great as the sheets and shower. It's an old place so not a big bathroom or airco but that compensated greatly by all the nice things it brings as well as the nice staff. Really enjoyed it and the best so fare on the west coast, and seen some 4/5 star places with no inspiration or class.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ton v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Ton v,

Thank you for your lovely five star review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was so comfortable, and that you found the hotel so pleasing. We are all looking forward to your next stay with us. Thank you, again.

Finest Regards,

Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    60
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
47
114
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

NOT WORTH IT. Stay somewhere else if you want a solid night of sleep and expect to get to get your money's worth.

Nice staff and charming ambiance but overpriced and overhyped. Paper thin walls, no alcohol license, communal heating, and musty smelling. This hotel is not on par with other luxury hotels it is similarly priced too.

I was very excited to surprise my wife with a relaxing weekend getaway and this hotel seemed ideal given our style and taste. However, the initial charm of the hotel quickly wore off within the first few minutes of entering our room. Although the room was spacious and well designed, it smelled old and musty and immediately put us both off. While I realize the hotel was built in the 20's- the smell was enough that we contemplated buying our own air freshener or candle.

The room was also cold when we arrived and so we naturally went to turn the heat on. We looked everywhere but couldn't find the thermostat. We called the front desk and they informed us the hotel only has a furnace that turns on at a specific time at night to a temperature they feel is right, so they offered a small space heater instead (which at least they had). It was very annoying to say the least to not be in control of your own room temperature and at the mercy of what the hotel deems appropriate.

The smell and the heating situation wasnt quite a deal breaker however, the old construction of the hotel was. By far the worst part of our stay was dealing the paper thin walls and noisey pipes that would wake us up at 6:30 every morning. Do not plan on sleeping-in here, especially if your upstairs neighbors happen to be early risers with kids. We heard every footstep and conversation as if they were in our room. If the guests upstairs wouldn't have woken us up, being situated next to the stairwell definitely did as we heard every single footstep walking down them and then past our room through the hallway.

On the last morning of our stay, we were already trying to ignore the loud footsteps at 6:30 again when what sounded like the noise a tortured whale might make permeated our room for 30 minutes. It was either our upstairs neighbors running the water or something to do with the heating. Either way it was unbearable at that time of morning. My wife and I made tissue ear plugs but even that didn't help. We called the front desk both mornings to complain and they were apologetic but it didn't really help either matter.

To top things off, the hotel is completely dry, as in does not have even have an alcohol liscence. We were told they were in the process of getting one but the hotel has been open for 8 months and still doesn't have one. Why?? I can't think of any other hotel in Palihouse's price range that does not serve alcohol.

The location is pretty nice as it's a few blocks away from 3rd St. Promenade but don't expect any ocean views or quick beach access. There's also no pool/spa.

Overall, I think the hotel has some positive attributes but it falls short in some of the most important ones and does not come close to justifying it's $400-800+ per night room rate. We wanted to love the place but it fell so far below our expectations that we would never recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluesuedeshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Bluesuedeshoe,

Thank you for your review, and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Palihouse Santa Monica. I’m sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. While we strive to provide an exceptional service to all of our guests, we understand that the uniqueness and intricacies of our property are not for everyone. Allow me to take a moment to address some of your concerns.

I am unfamiliar with the “musty” smell in your room. This is the first we have heard of this. I will definitely look into it and see if there is an issue. I would also like to recommend for your next stay to try lighting one of our signature Le Labo candles that are in all of our rooms. They offer a special, unique smell that everyone enjoys.

Regarding our heating system, all of our rooms are equipped with steam radiators. When the hotels boiler is turned on, guests are able to adjust the heat in their rooms by simply turning their radiator on and off. As we are in Santa Monica, we often times do not need to turn on the boiler as we are in such a warm climate. In those instances where guests require their room to be warmer and the boiler is not turned on, we offer small electric heaters. I am glad to hear that we were at least able to provide that for you.

I am sorry to hear that your neighbors kept you up. It is always something that we try and be aware of during our frequent property walks. During your next stay, if for any reason there is an issue with your room or your neighbors, please notify us so that we can assist you in finding an alternative room that might suit your needs.

And finally, as for our liquor license, we do hope to have one soon. We would love nothing more than to offer our guests a glass of wine in our lobby.

We do not claim to be a hotel for everyone, but those guests that we are attracting seem to really appreciate what we have here. I am sorry that you did not find that to be the case. Nonetheless, we appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again. Thank you, again.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights to see friends and reconnect with LA on route to Portland. Really enjoyed it. Old building with character refurbed to satisfy hipsters but having said that it was really comfortable and chilled vibe. Sadly no alcohol license when we were there but being so close to the beach this is hardly a deal breaker. They lent us bikes and the food was excellent. Some huge rooms. We needed a friend to stay on night late and they were very cool at firstly having a room for her and secondly not charging her like a wounded bull.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear William d,

Thank you for your lovely four-star review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your wife during your time here in Santa Monica. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. Please let us know when you will be returning, we would love to welcome you back. Thank you again.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've stayed in some great places around the world, but can't think of a better room anywhere than the Penthouse here. Quirky, classy hotel, great location, very friendly staff. Will be staying here any time I'm in LA from now, wish I'd discovered it before.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun_h_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear shaun_h_nz

Thank you for your five star review. We are all so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the penthouse, our newest addition to the hotel. Please let us know when you will be returning to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again!


Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My daughter and I travelled to L.A in late october, as the first leg of a trip to san francisco and New york. She had initially planned on using airbnb, but we are SO glad we didn't, we couldn't possibly speak more highly of our experience at palihouse, it was magnificent in every sense of the word.
As soon as we arrived we were gushing over how incredible the interiors were, and at that stage we had only seen the lobby. Lila helped us with our bags & checking in, and upon checkin we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite. She was so helpful and kind, both my daughter and I were so appreciative & moved that she would just do that.
Then we saw the suite… jaws to the floor, it was unbelievable/amazing/perfect in every way. I was getting teary, it was beyond anything we expected. My daughter wants to live there, it was amazing. The heritage, spanish-colonial building is so gorgeous from the outside but our room (ahem, palace) was truly incredible. We were marvelling at every little detail, as well as the big ones (the amazing chic decor and furniture). My daughter described the room as a potential set on a wes anderson movie - it was very luxe but home-y and comforting (in the best kind of way) ...even the scent (which you could purchase in the form of a custom santal le labo candle available in your room) was beautiful, welcoming. We burn it at home now to remind us of palihouse!
Our room overlooked the courtyard and was so beautiful & comfortable... it was often a real struggle to leave for the day. On top of this, the staff at palihouse were absolutely amazing. we miss them! Each and every person we encountered there we loved! they felt like our friends, and we'll never forget how lovely they all were.
Lila was gorgeous, we loved chatting to her, she was such a sweetheart & so kind. Dan went above and beyond each time we had a question, request or suggestion. He was so willing to accommodate, and was so friendly/attentive/sweet whilst doing so. Phillip at the bar took our order for breakfast most mornings (the food is DELICIOUS as well, a simple menu is all you need when its so fresh and yummy… my daughter is missing the omelettes) ...he was so lovely, helpful and informative (regularly and willingly looked up the weather on his iPhone/googled questions we had). At valet, Hunter was funny & so sweet, and brandon was laid back, lovely & full of great suggestions on cool places to go to shop/eat etc. Tori at the front desk was so great and attentive as well.

We were sad to leave! Staying here was the highlight of our time in L.A, and was possibly our favourite hotel experience ever. we'll return to L.A if for nothing else, just to visit palihouse. PERFECT!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larellejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear larellejoy,

Thank you for your five star review. We are all so pleased to hear that you and your daughter had such an enjoyable stay. It was our pleasure to upgrade your room to our two bedroom residence. I will be sure and share this review with all of our staff. Thank you so much for recognizing them, it is greatly appreciated. We all look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you, again!

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here. We stayed in room 207 which is on a corner with windows on two sides and is a large one bedroom apartment. The location is great, just three blocks from the beach, you can walk to a Whole Foods store to shop for food, and you can walk to Santa Monica pier and the Promenade. They have stylish bikes to ride and valet parking. Our room was beautifully furnished with good quality toiletries.

The lift is old so do have them take your bags to and from your room as you will struggle with the lift doors.

My only suggestion for improvement is that they should add more kitchen equipment. We only had one saucepan, one fry pan and a kettle. And yet there was a very good stove but no roasting pan, no cafeteria to make coffee and some great cookbooks like Julia Child's introduction to French cooking. I'd love to have tried some of the recipes but there was not enough kitchen equipment to do so.

Staff are very good.

And wifi is included in the rooms and in the common parts.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annerly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Tripster29,

Thank you for your four star review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palihouse Santa Monica. During your next stay with us, please let us know if we can provide any items for your kitchen as we have extra kitchen supplies upon request. We also have coffee makers and microwaves if you are interested. Thank you, again. We all look forward to your next visit with us.

Finest Regards,

Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel and couldn't have been happier. They actually upgraded us to a king room which was GORGEOUS. Very trendy. It was really close to the Santa Monica pier. The service desk was really really nice. We used their bikes (they waived the fee since it was only an hour) they wanted to charge $25 which is a little expensive but the bikes are really cute. The room is like a Paul Smith ad. They pay attention to every detail. Both concierge were very knowledgeable and personable. I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Chloe M,

Thank you for you five star review. We are all so pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please let us know when you will be returning as we would love to welcome you back. Hopefully next time you can stay a little longer. Thank you, again.

Finest Regards,

Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Property: Palihouse Santa Monica
Address: 1001 3rd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-3703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is offered at our lobby lounge for guests on Saturdays and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing