We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palihouse Santa Monica
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pailhouse Santa Monica for 3 nights in September. What a beautiful place with loads of character. All the staff were lovely and super helpful. They have just launched their app Pailfornia which has recommendations of LA restaurants and shopping which we found really useful. Loved our stay here, thanks guys!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyMickandMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear SydneyMickandMel,

Thank you so much for your five star review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was so great, and even more delighted to hear that our staff was so friendly and helpful. Thank you for also downloading our hotel app, Palifornia. We hope that it provided all of the insider tips of the area that you were looking for. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us on your next visit. We all look forward to your return.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 425 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to fall in love with this property as I travel to LA on business every month for a week and was looking for a new "home away from home" in this area. It was appealing to me because it was apartment-like and when I spend so much time there - that characteristic is important to me! Like other reviewers, the parking situation is near-impossible to manage. I was told they needed to valet far away and to allow 5-10 minutes to retrieve care but it was consistently 25 minutes at least to get car and when in-town for business, I don't have the luxury of such time. I understand it is a issue with the city regulations but it makes for a very challenging stay. The room decor is wonderful but the bathroom shower (in my room) sprayed out over the entire tiny bathroom and created an ever-present smell of must. The no A/C was bearable as I was there on a beautiful cool week but imagine it would be a problem during the hotter months. Lastly, I was overcharged for valet parking nights which they kindly reimbursed. Overall, would recommend of a great lazy beachy weekend which I'm sure it was meant to cater to but there are some improvements that could be made for other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steftravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear stefftravels_12,

Thank you for your review. It is always nice for us to hear from our guests on things that they really loved about our hotel as well as things that need improvement.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with our parking situation. We are working hard to solve the challenges of our parking options, and we are confident that we will be able to offer our guests timely and convenient parking service in the near future. I am also sorry to hear that you were overcharged for parking, but I am glad to that we were able to correct that for you.

Thank you again for your review. We always appreciate all of the feedback that we can get from our guests. It helps us improve and continue to provide an exceptional experience. We hope you will join us again on your next visit to Santa Monica.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved staying at the Palihouse Hollywood and were so excited to try this place by the beach, especially since it's dog friendly. It's in a gorgeous, historic building in a great location, and it's got great design but the service leaves a lot to be desired. The one or two valets have to park your car miles away, I believe, so even if you call in advance it's unclear if they will be getting your car or just waiting to see you, and then you might still have to wait quite a while for your car. There is no A/C in the building and rooms, and even if people say you don't need A/C by the beach, don't listen. It can get pretty hot in the summer, and we were there during a heat wave and ended up leaving early because of the unbearable heat. There's a cute little kitchenette in the suite, but they weren't able to locate a microwave (that we'd been told we could request) for us even though they offered to microwave our things if we'd like. There's no pool (which would have been good for the heat wave) although I think you can go to the Annenberg beach house) and the gym they have a "deal" with is Equinox, where you can pay $50 for a day pass. (That's the "deal"?) Eventually I believe the kinks will be worked out because the Palihouse is a great chain, maybe the restaurant will be open later than 3pm eventually, but for now it's not up and running in a way that makes sense to seasoned travelers.

Room Tip: We had the nicest room, a two-bedroom suite, and it was a lovely place but too hot -- go in the wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Cindy C,

Thank you for your review. While I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the design of the hotel, I am sorry to hear that we didn’t offer the level of service that you were expecting. We are working hard to solve the challenges of our parking options, and we are confident that we will be able to offer our guests timely and convenient parking service in the near future.

Upon hearing that we didn’t have a microwave for your stay, we made it a priority to have this service available for all of our guests and I am pleased to report that we have enough coffee makers and microwaves for any guest that would like these amenities in their room.

Thank you again for your review. We hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon so we can show you the continuing improvement to our property.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Palihouse Santa Monica is a gorgeous place. We were greeted by two very friendly girls who checked us in - there was a little hassle with our booking - it had not registered on the system so they gave us an upgrade to a suite! It was the most amazing room and had everything you could want: big TV, Apple TV, Kitchen!, walk in wardrobe, and amazing decor. And the location is just a stones throw away from the main shopping area and beaches of Santa Monica. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magser_bagser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Magser_Bagser,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and found the room amenities and décor so pleasant. I apologize about the confusion at check in, but I am pleased to hear that we resolved the issue for you. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you again.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a bonus here as we had booked it's previous incarnation (Embassy Appartments) and arrived to find the place fresh done up and looking very spruce and indeed lovely. Obviously we were paying the rate we booked which I gather is significantly less than they ask now since it's new ownership.

For any Brits reading this it kind of reminds me of Soho House meets Babbington House in the way it's done up and it does indeed look fab. Our room(s) was magnificent - big bedroom, living room, dressing room, kitchen but let down by a bathroom/lavatory that it is no bigger than a telephone box - madness. Much more sensible would have been to convert the kitchen into a beautiful bathroom than this poor excuse (bathrooms are important if you are spending the several hundred dollars a night that this place charges).
Onto the service - well this was pretty mixed unfortunately. Smart looking blazered gents behind reception looked the part but were pretty ineffectual at times and just seemed to chat among themselves instead of actually running the place. When we arrived, whilst I was unloading the car they saw my wife struggling with suitcases and heavy bags and didn't come to help her, just turned the other way. Exactly the same happened on our departure. I don't care whether it's their remit or not, they should just bloody offer to help.
We had booked for the four of us and they seem surprised when having seen the room upon arrival we asked where the children were going to sleep as there was only a double bed and had to ask them to go and get a rollaway bed for child one and make up the sofa for child 2. We also only had two towels provided for the four of us so we asked for two more to be told that they had run out of towels currently - $600+ a night, seriously?
Anyway back to the positives, aside from being a beautiful place that will only be enhanced when they get their liqour licence, the valet and breakfast staff were excellent and efficient and always looking to go beyond the minimum (learn from these guys Front Desk blazer staff). The location is excellent - a few minutes walk from 3rd St Promenade and a few minutes walk from the ocean.
If they get the service right this place will be excellent and just about justifying it's premium price. Until it does, it will be poor value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear NicL,

Thanks for your review. We are thrilled you thought your room to be magnificent! We of course would also love much bigger bathrooms in all of the rooms but in the keeping of the historic listed 1927 building, we kept things as is. It does however sound like you were staying in one of the rooms with a smaller bathroom as a majority of the bathrooms are at least 3-4 telephone boxes in size. :-)

I would like to however apologize that you were disappointed with the service from our Front Desk staff and want you to know that we take this feedback seriously and have addressed this with the team as we endeavor to provide excellent customer service at all times.

We hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon so we can prove to you we are worth the extra two stars. We welcome you to email Fernando@pali-group.com prior to your next stay.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved the décor and the staff very friendly. A few problems though: since there is no air conditioning (which is fine), we had to keep our windows open. Our room faced the street and it was noisy. The walls are thin so we heard every conversation and moving around through the night. In the bathroom, there's a little sign asking to hang up your towels in order to conserve water but there were no hooks or towel racks in the bathroom to put them! Had to drape towels across the sink and tub. Was looking forward to sleeping in late but housekeeping started vacuuming by 9am.
The large common area downstairs is gorgeous with a huge fireplace that I would love to revisit with friends for a cocktail (once they get their liquor license).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Karen S,

Thanks for your review. We are happy you loved the décor and found the staff to be friendly. We also sincerely appreciate your feedback on the bathroom hooks and have since added additional hooks in the bathroom closer to the tub (there are 4 currently behind the bathroom door which we understand can be easy to miss). We are also reviewing the vacuuming times. Hopefully the liquor license comes sooner rather than later and we hope next time you stay we can offer you a cocktail by the fire place.

Cheers,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Palihouse is a fantastic hotel to stay in while you are visiting Santa Monica whether you are working or on Vacation. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the decor and atmosphere are second to none. The situation is perfect, close to the beach and shopping and restaurants and yet so quiet and peaceful 24/7. I enjoyed my recent stay there so much I have just booked it again for my next business trip in December. Relaxed comfort with Style!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Bob G,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in December. Once you make your booking please email Gonzalo@pali-group.com to let him we when we can expect you back.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,023 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,279 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,414 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
652 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-3703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $355 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is offered at our lobby lounge for guests on Saturdays and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing