We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Whole Enchilada!”
Review of Blue Plate Taco

Blue Plate Taco
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Plate Taco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 678 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Whole Enchilada!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Well, tacos actually, Watched the sunset on Santa Monica Pier and headed across the street for dinner. I find out we got lucky as it is usually quite crowded and we were seated within minutes. The tacos were good, the salsa even better and the margaritas were the best (read:strong), And....we could still gaze at the Pacific, hence the 5 stars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElisePortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    289
    72
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing and casual”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had lunch with a business associate for a first visit to this restaurant. The General Manager Andre Ulloa greeted us and our server Erin was super. The menu is a nice size and well priced. Will definitely go again for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Casual Food”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The restaurant is located on the ground floor of the Shore Hotel. The chicken quesadilla was delicious and served with freshly made salsa, guacamole and chips. The shrimp cerviche was excellent. It gets very busy so make a reservations in advance. Great atmosphere. Ask for a table outside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGourmet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Muy bueno”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great pitchers of drinks, wonderful tacos (try the pork belly or mole) and fantastic Mexican corn-on-the-cob. Add it to your rotation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Tacos DONE RIGHT!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

While staying at the beautiful Shore Hotel, we stumbled upon this gem of a taco restaurant, which to our surprise is owned by Shore Hotel. This place rocks! The tacos, the drinks, the atmosphere (I mean you're right on Ocean Ave, c'mon!), everything was perfect. My fiance and I will for sure be back! If you like a good margarita and various type tacos then you will not be disappointed. Thanks Blue Plate Taco!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank paculed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Taco also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing