We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want some NOW!”
Review of Blue Plate Taco

Blue Plate Taco
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Plate Taco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 678 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I want some NOW!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had the vegetarian tacos. They were delicious. But very very tiny. So in that case- it was a bummer. Margarita was also only about 3 sips. I thought maybe this was a California thing- but all other restaurants I had huge portions. Also had the Mexican chopped salad and it was incredible!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    289
    72
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food is not as consistent as the original Blue Plate on Montana. We sent back a fish dish. The guacamole was not as flavorful as it could be. The look of the restaurant is great and the service was good the two times i went. The location is fantastic. I think they need to work on the quality of the food though before i will go back. (I'm a local).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susiefg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, healthy & fresh”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I were staying nearby and were looking for a healthy meal option. Blue Plate has smaller, healthier portions that are packed with flavor. The Mexican chop salad is amazing: it has a cilantro lime dressing, green beans, kale, romaine, grilled corn, grilled cauliflower, quinoa and so much more. I had the fish tacos with slaw. We loved the food so much for dinner that we came back for lunch the next day! If I was a local I would come here all the time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmusicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Smaller Portions, Great Location”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I popped into Blue Plate Taco last night because I am staying at the neighboring Shore Hotel. The appearance of the restaurant is very good, cool, hip, casual atmosphere. I was alone, so I sat at the counter - which is practically in the kitchen area so I could see everything the cooks were doing. Pleasantly, the food was all very fresh and well prepared. The flavors, and ingredients were wonderful. I had the Tilapia tacos. The flavor of the food itself was all very good, no disappointment at all. However, the portion side might leave something to be desired. The 2 tacos that come with the meal, were on very small taco shells, maybe 4-5". And the amount of fish in them was also very small. It tasted GREAT, but there just wasn't a lot of food. I could have literally eaten probably like 5 of those mini tacos, but the meal only came with 2. The cabbage slaw was great, very distinct flavor, I don't think i've had anything like it anywhere else. My one big complaint was with my waiter. I'm not going to slam the whole establishment, for the actions of one waiter, but this guy was seriously the worst waiter I've had in recent memory. My glass sat empty for essentially my entire meal, literally, probably 15 minutes. Meanwhile, he walked past my table probably 10 times (literally), and never asked how i was doing, or if i needed anything. He never brought me the chips and salsa i ordered. As it turned out, 2 OTHER servers ended up serving me more than my actual waiter. I'm sure the other servers are probably fine, but mine was awful. I would eat here again though, i would just order more food, lol.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockyP95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BLUE PLATE TACO”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

(I'm a local) - This review is ONLY for BLUE PLATE TACO Restaurant, NOT for the very nice Shore Hotel. Blue Plate Taco is a new upscale mexican restaurant located in the Shore Hotel on beautiful Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica. It has great views of Palisades Park. Unfortunately, the food is EXTREMELY disappointing. For $10 you get two micro tacos and a micro portion of beans or rice. Rice and beans should ALWAYS be served together, not separate. You can decide whether to have the beans OR the rice, but if you want both you will have to pay $6 for a puny, micro portion.
The two amoeba sized tacos look more like an appetizer than a full meal, and they aren't even that tasty. So prepare to order LOTS of food to get full. Not a restaurant for hungry men.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsetJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Taco also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing