We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good items, some mediocre items, bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cora's Coffee Shoppe

Cora's Coffee Shoppe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
vancouver island
Level Contributor
203 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Some good items, some mediocre items, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Met some friends here for breakfast and was expecting an excellent meal based on previous reviews. Sadly, that was not to be -- at least not for all of us. The whole wheat blueberry pancakes were liked by some---I thought they had almost no flavor. The lox were good, the bagel didn't come close to being a bagel but the portion was more than fair. The omelette was small and very short on ingredients. Perhaps the biggest weakness was the service. We had to practically beg to get coffee refills, we were served one wrong meal while waiting forever to get the correct food and no one ever came back to check on water or any other needs. With all the breakfast places around LA, this is NOT a place we would return to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    109
    46
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Really charming little restaurant. Food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. I will return whenever I am in Santa Monica and will recommend it to all my friends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad service can ruin a restaurant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Went for breakfast and the food was great! Interesting choices and delicious, however we were made to feel like we didn't matter. Maybe the locals like the this treatment but we did not. No one noticed we were there and a cup of tea took about 20 minutes to arrive. It's a shame because the food was terrific!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great local breakfast spot. Food was fresh and delicious. Line moved quickly and service was quick and friendly. Will definitely go back next time we are in Santa Monica.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizabetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Local Restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The food here is imaginative and great. Love the orange pancakes with blueberries. Many choices.smoothies, wonderfully fresh fruit, specialty omelettes, etc.
This is a small place. A few tables in the building The majority are under an arbor covered with plastic for the Winter. Outdoor heaters keep it comfortable.
We ate breakfast here twice while staying at Le Meridien Delfina. Just a short walk from the hotel.
Definitely a must for breakfast. We didn't have any other meals there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stategt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cora's Coffee Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Cora's Coffee Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing