We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, good food and a perfect view”

Mariasol Cocina Mexicana
Ranked #65 of 689 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located at the very end of the picturesque Santa Monica Pier, Mariasol serves mouthwatering Mexican fare reminiscent of that found in the Mexican beach towns of Cabo San Lucas and Puerto Vallarta. Visitors enjoy the vivacious colors of the patios and the decor of a true Baja Cantina. Mariasol's use of distinctive sauces, flavorful peppers and fresh fish make this cuisine a favorite among food lovers. Lunch and dinner are served daily.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice people, good food and a perfect view”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

At the end of the Santa Monica Pier I expected a tourist trap, and was delightfully surprised to find people who care about pleasing their customers. The salsa tasted and looked home made, and I was pleased that the chips were crispy considering the salt air from being over the ocean. The views are magnificent, and no extra charge. Also free, is a photo taken at your table and made into a postcard. Of course if you want to purchase a larger version that is extra. They even gave us complementary delicious mexican wedding cookies at the end of the meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    185
    100
    45
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meal at the Santa Monica Pier”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was my first meal from my visit to California. I loved the environment that this restaurant had to offer. The staff was amazing. My server, Enrique, did a superb job at making my experience one of the best. I ordered the carne asada and it was one of the best meals I have ever had. Visit this restaurant if you ever get the chance and ask for Enrique as your server.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wd625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Get the guacamole”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We just had nachos and drinks. One serving of nachos was big enough to feed the two of us lunch. Wonderful nachos, very fresh salsa, generous with the cheese. The guacamole was the star, and we ordered extra not because we didn't have enough food, but just because it was so darn good.
It's a busy place, bustling atmosphere, and there's likely to be a wait for a table. Either stop by early, get your name on the list, and then go walk the pier for a while, or settle in at the bar for a drink and some chips while you wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QatariTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

we wait one hour to be seated, to to long for average food, I was very disappointed ..... never again......

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank luminita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“second visit this time with teenagers not the same”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have been here before about 3 years ago and we enjoyed it then had a nice cocktail on the patio and they come and take your picture, with the option to buy a larger version. I noticed while the service was still very good we were invisible...in the sense that nobody took our picture (which I would have purchased if they did) and that we were treated different.... we enjoyed our meals, the food was good, the service was good I just felt that I was treated differently last time when my kids (18 and 15) were not with me....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank yelsel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariasol Cocina Mexicana also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Mariasol Cocina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing