We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view nice staff nice food”

Mariasol Cocina Mexicana
Ranked #67 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located at the very end of the picturesque Santa Monica Pier, Mariasol serves mouthwatering Mexican fare reminiscent of that found in the Mexican beach towns of Cabo San Lucas and Puerto Vallarta. Visitors enjoy the vivacious colors of the patios and the decor of a true Baja Cantina. Mariasol's use of distinctive sauces, flavorful peppers and fresh fish make this cuisine a favorite among food lovers. Lunch and dinner are served daily.
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful view nice staff nice food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was the first place we dined at in LA the food tasted nice and the staff were friendly. the staff come and take your photo whilst you are eating which you are able to then buy this is great as I was there with my husband and daughter and its great to have a nice photo of the 3 of us together there it was a very hot day when we were there and we ate outside overlooking the ocean

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    189
    103
    45
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Down at the end of the pier is the best Mexican experience! We were pleasantly surprised by the fantastic flavor of everything from the incredible salsa (we had to ask for a refill!) to the meal itself.
The view is beautiful. The only thing to watch out for, if you are outside, are the aggressive pigeons. Yes, the pigeons are a little pushy. If they bother you, ask for water bottle to squirt at them and use it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average food-fun atmosphere”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

On our first day in California, we visited the Santa Monica Pier. We decided to eat here and enjoyed the atmosphere and the view. Food was just ok and overpriced for lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cpersh1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, CA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, good service, just OK food”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We took guests to the pier because they specifically asked to eat at the Mexican restaurant at the end of the pier. I grew up in San Diego, and know great Mexican food, and didn't expect to find it at the end of the Santa Monica Pier. However, it was a beautiful day, and we were able to eat out on the deck facing the ocean. We even had a very good singer entertaining at the end of the pier outside the restaurant.

The servings are incredibly large, but lack a really "wow" factor. My fish tacos came with three tacos, rice and beans. A huge plate, but the snapper had virtually no taste, if it was snapper. It didn't taste fishy or bad, just plain and boring. They were listed as breaded on the menu, and when I asked they said they could grill the fish for me, so maybe that was the problem. And it was just too much food...I suppose to make up for paying $16 for fish tacos. My husband seemed to like his chicken fajitas, the fish soup looked OK, and the 10 year old's burrito was huge, but he left most of it. Didn't taste the sangria, but it was a large glass, and our daughter said it was good.

So 5 stars for the view and service, but would not go back for the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great Mexican food at the end of the Santa Monica Pier. Really enjoyed the Caldo DeCamarones Sopa (jumbo shrimp and fresh vegetables in a spicy broth served with tortillas). Good atmosphere and surrounded by the Pacific.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CassidyBayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariasol Cocina Mexicana also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Mariasol Cocina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing